Garth Peacock
Ouse Washes RSPB, Cambridgeshire

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Friday 1st November 2013

I was not really satisfied with the images I took of the Northern Harrier last week so I revisited last Wednesday 30th October for a second try. Knowing that the sun didn't get behind the hides until lunchtime, I arrived at 1.00pm to wait, this time in Churchman hide, one further up the site from Stockdales hide where I was last week.

Vey quiet initially but perfect for photography, light wind and plenty of sunshine so a game of patience was required. The Northern Harrier and a couple of Marsh Harriers were in view from about 2.30 onwards but very distant.

A Peregrine was feeding on the ground about 300 metres away so I watched for a time when it flew past the hide about 100 mtetres away so a flight shot was possible - just.

The the Northern Harrier started to quarter the river bank towards the hide but disappeared over the bank, reappearing much closer and still flying towardsthe hide rather quickly. Sods law, I had the 1.4x converter on so the gear would not focus quickly enough so one opportunity missed, even though it passed within 20/30 metres of the hide.

The a couple of Marsh Harriers took to the air, putting up the wildfowl and giving excellent opportunities for some flight shots.

Then a male Marsh Harrier came in very close and this time, I had the converter off.

And then the final shot when a juvenile male Hen Harrier came in close although the light was on the wane by then

Overall a very satisfying afternoon, even though I missed the target bird - better luck next time.

More images in the Recent Additions section.