Garth Peacock
West Norfolk (Again)

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Friday 18th October 2013

Last Tuesday, with all the reports of rare migrants hitting the Norfolk coast, I set off relatively early to get to the NWT reserves at Holme Dunes at it's opening time of 10.00 am. Monday night had been cloudy and rainy in Cambridge and with reports that evening of lingering migrants in the area, it looked a good bet.

The long entrance track to the reserve was surprisingly quiet and the report from the office was disappointing - there had been a clear spell during the night in Norfolk and most birds had taken the opportunity to continue their migration. The same story at the adjacent NOA reserve with only a few Redpolls still around.

Only one photo opportunity, a Chaffinch that I took just to make sure the camera was still working!!!

Both reserves were crawling iwth birders - I have never seen them so busy so if there was anything of interest, it was highly unlikely to show with that number of people around so I went to Titchwell RSPB to catch the high tide mid-afternoon. The water levels in the reserve had increased so there was a total absence of waders, if fact a total absence of anything of interest so I had to rely on the beach and tide.

It was quite blustery on the beach and the tide had brought in a lot of odds and ends from the sea that was being carefully inspected by the usual gulls and a few Sanderling. The speed of action of Sanderling make then a very entertaining subject to photograph; in fact one of my favourite species, so it was down on the knees near the water line to see what transpired, with some success.

I got so carried away, I forgot the incoming tide and ended up kneeling in the surf - well it was worth it. At least the gear was dry.

A lone Purple Sandpiper made an appearance and became quite approachable after a time.

At this stage, the weather turned for the worse with black clouds and little light so it was time to go home.

More images in the Recent Additions section.