Garth Peacock
Titchwell RSPB Norfolk

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 27th August 2013

With the bank holiday and family commitments getting in the way, It has taken a few days to complete the editing and posting of images taken last Wednesday at Titchwell RSPB. I was there just a few days before but a friend had seen my images of the moulting Spotted Redshank and wanted to take some of his own so I accompanied him, never passing up the opportunity to get some more images.

Weather good - sun and high cloud - very calm with little breeze. Perfect for photographing birds on water so all looked good.

The usual were present, Black-tailed Godwit ( I have so many images of this species that I will have to get rid of some of the earlier ones)

Avocet

and Ruff

As a tester for the new Canon 500 f4 Mk2 lense, I took a quick flier at a small flock of flying Redshank with the 1.4 Mk3 Converter in place. With the old lense, there was not a hope of the autofocus locking on but this time it reacted very quickly - very pleased with the sharpness.

The Moorhen family were showing well too

Finally, the target bird turned up and showed just in front of the hide, sometimes too close to focus.

So job done, one happy friend and a quick visit to Hunstanton cliff car parkon the way home where a Common Gull showed well in the evening sun

Overall, a pleasing day out - nothing spectacular but some decent images.

More images in the Recent Additions section.