Garth Peacock
Lackford Lakes and Kingfishers

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Thursday 11th July 2013

Last Monday, 8th July, I went to Lackford Lakes, a Suffolk Wildlife Trust reserve. My best Kingfisher shots have been taken here and several Kingfishers were showing well according to reports from acquaintances and there were some decent images on Birdguides recently so it was worth a visit.

It is only half-an-hours drive for me although traffic problems caused a delay but I arrived in the hide about 2.15 pm. One other person was there and apparemtly one Kingfisher had shown at around 10.00am but not since. I settled for a wait to see what happened. About mid-afternoon, one bird showed, sat on a perch for a minute or two at the most and then flew off.

Other photographers started to turn up - there was a total of 7 in the end, all patiently waiting and then one Kingfisher arrived, perched and started to fish. There were several perches around, some close and some not so close and it moved from on to another but some patek philippe replica good images were possible, both with and without fish

I even tried to get some shots when fishing - not easy as the bird was too distant for the 70-200 F.8 lense so it was the 500 F4 lense which is not so easy to handle quickly to follow the bird down. Still one shot was worth keeping although far from perfect.

There were two birds showing but they both disappeared around 6.15-6.30pm when the light was going anyway.

So a successful afternoon with more images in the Recent Additions section of this website. Well worth a trip to anyone panerai replica wanting photos of Kingfishers.