Garth Peacock
A Large Dung Heap

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Sunday 23rd June 2013

Having been informed by a friend of a place where Yellow Wagtails were coming in to feed, last Friday, I made my way to the side of a large dung heap in the middle of a rape field. The heap was not high but probably 15 to 20 metres across so I parked up the car next to it and waited to see what happened.

The first and regular visitor was a juvenile Starling coming quite close but rather strangely, totally on its own instead of in the usual noisy flock.

Several Pied Wagtails called to feed on the invertebrates, never staying long. Obviously taking food back to young in a nearby nest.

A pair of Yellow Wagtails came in to feed but stubbornly stayed at the far side of the heap, just out of range of my 500 lense. They were also feeding young and I could follow their flight to locate the nest sited in the middle of the rape field.

The weather was very changeable, from cloudy bright to very overcast and it was when it was at its darkest that one male Yellow Wagtail came close enough for a couple of images worth keeping.

This site must be worth a further visit when the sun is shining - I will keep it in mind for the immediate future to see if I can manage any better shots as Yellow Wagtails must be one of our most attractive summer visitors.