Garth Peacock
Titchwell RSPB Norfolk

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Friday 31st August 2012

Having seen other photographers getting excellent flight shots from Titchwell beach, I thought it was time I tried. I usually leave a visit to Titchwell to the afternoon as most of the action is to the East of the hides and the footpath. However, this time I went mid-morning to the beach.

Anyway, my reactions have always been rather too slow for good flight shots so this should be interesting!!!

The tide was going out so there were plenty of waders feeding. As is happens, the sun was over my right shoulder with a westerly wind so not ideal for getting catchlights in the eyes but I had great fun trying to keep up with the fast flying waders.

I was also trying to get a background of the surf to give some depth to the image - sometimes the 7D dropped focus from the bird but mainly it held focus fine.

Even managed a sharp shot with Bar-tailed Godwit, Redshank and Knot all in the frame.

Dunlin were a real challenge but I had some success.

To end the session, a Curlew flew round me twice allowing some closer flight shots.

I thought it politic to quit while I was ahead so headed for the car, calling in at the hides on my way back. Nothing of real interest but a Shelduck was feeding close in with reflections in the calm water.

More images from this trip in the 'Recent Additions' section of this website.