Garth Peacock
Two Cambridgesire Reserves

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Saturday 18th May 2013

After a very hot and sunny family holiday in Turkey, it was rather sobering to return to the current cold English weather. There seems to be little let-up, not conducive to wildlfe generally, especially birds and birding.

Any way, with the sun shining last Thursday, I headed for the RSPB reserve at Fowlmere to see if any recent migrants were showing. At the first hide. a lone Greylag Goose was the only item on offer. It was time to test the camera to see if it still remembered how to work and the images were better than expected so worth keeping.

I think we are all guilty of overlooking the common species - I seem to have less images of the common birds that the less common ones so I was pleased with these two shots.

At the next hide, nothing was happeneing at all with a lone Mute Swan sitting on a nest in the middle of the mere. She then took to the water with 7 Cygnets in tow- Photos with the 'Ah' factor (or is it the 'Argh' factor).

Then a migrant at last with a Hobby showing distantly but worth a few shots.

Then off to Wicken Fen to see what was on show there. At one part of the reserve a male Black-winged Stilt was a recent arrival but I have close ups from Mallorca and Hungary and this was too distant to get good images so I decided not to bother.

Anyway, after that momentous decision, the afternoon drew a complete blank except for a surprising Osprey sitting in a tree by the mere but too distant for photography, especially with the heat haze. After 15 minutes or so, it flew off when a pair of Marsh Harriers harried it and then began nest-building close by but still too distant.

Local trips are currently disappointing, especially after the Finland/Norway trip - just try harder, I think.