Garth Peacock
Ouse Washes RSPB Cambridgeshire

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 28th August 2012

Ouse Washes RSPB is not on my usual list of reserves to visit. The hides are too distant from the action for photography.

Nevertheless, the attraction of a juvenile Glossy Ibis 'showing well' was irresistable. The hides face South-East so an rolexreviews.co.uk afternoon visit was essential - weather perfect. Reports gave the best sightings from Grose Hide and, sure enough, there it was feeding in a pool in front of the hide. Still rather distant for good shots.

After a couple of sorties to the next scrape, it duly returned, just a little closer.

After another sortie, it obligingly landed on a post directly in front of the hide to preen.

Final shots were when it was spooked by a female Marsh Harrier and landed out of range.

Finally the female Marsh Harrier returned to upset all the waders.

More images in the ''Recent Additions' section of this website.