Garth Peacock
That's the end of 2019 for me.

Archive

Could be the last one for a while.

Wednesday 18th March 2020

We are into March already

Monday 9th March 2020

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbridge WWT Gloucestershire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Friday 20th December 2019

Poor weather, family commitments and little of interest all conspired for a disappointing end to the year. Not to mention the work we are having done on the house at present.

In the meantime, I have been spending time on my project - to sort out the photos on this blog and get rid of those that are not up to standard. So far, I have deleted nearly 1000 and I am only half way through. I am also taking the opportunity to re-edit the remaining ones so they present better on this blog so it is a big time-consuming project.

But there was a chink of light last Wednesday 18th December. Sunny morning so I decided to visit Stirtloe, near Huntingdon where a Siberian Chiffchaff was found a few days before. With help from a friend, I found the area it was frequenting and waited.

I tested my camera settings on a Goldcrest.

and got excited to photograph a Chiffchaff

but then saw that is what it was - a Chiffchaff - but the Siberian Chiffchaff soon made an appearance and showed well.

and even sat on a branch in front of me and preened for a while.

A result as, despite at least a couple of other failed previous attempts, this was my first photos of one.

I then moved on to nearby Grafham Water but the only real opportunity was a Rook on the grass. Common enough but it is so east to overlook good photo opportunities if common species.

The weather was getting cloudy so I went home early afternoon, well pleased with my short trip out.

So to all readers of this blog, a very Merry Christmas and good health and fortune for 2020. See you next year.