Garth Peacock
Romania days 8,9 &10 - 15th, 16th and 17th June 2019

Archive

Could be the last one for a while.

Wednesday 18th March 2020

We are into March already

Monday 9th March 2020

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbridge WWT Gloucestershire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 27th August 2019

During the long drive from the delta to our new base in the Carpathian Mountains, we managed a few stops on the way, one of which produced Lesser Spotted Eagle, distant, but another new species for me.

After depositing suitcases etc,rolex day date replica in the hotel, we went to the first of the three hides to photograph Brown Bears. After a steep and arduous climb, this hide was deep in the forest but we saw our first Bears, a black male and a brown female. High ISO was the order of the day.

The next morning, we went to the next hide, still in the forest and very much overcast but the best photos came from the final hide, reached after, shall we say, an exhiliarating ride in the FWD. Here, the sun came out and the bears put on a display for us,

even just in front of the hide

and a fangs bared display between a mother and her almost adult offspring.

The next day, it was the long drive to Bucharest airport, but still stopping on the way for a roadside Great Grey Shrike

and one of the many White Stork nests in the area but this photographable from an elevated vantage point.

Overall, this was an excellent photographic trip, well organised by Sakertours and with two excellent guides. I could even be tempted to do it again.

www.bagesfutbol.net