Garth Peacock
Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Archive

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

Romania Day 2 - 9th June 2019

Monday 24th June 2019

Romania Day1 - 8th June 2019

Friday 21st June 2019

Great Grey Shrike and others

Thursday 6th June 2019

The last ten days or so

Sunday 26th May 2019

Good weather at last

Friday 17th May 2019

5 days of not a lot

Saturday 4th May 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Saturday 17th August 2019

The last day actually in the delta. Leaving the hotel early morning, the first to appear was a roosting White-tailed Eagle, waiting for the sun to warm the air.

We found another pair of Red-necked Grebes, this time preparing a nest.

This time, we only found the usual suspects again until we were returning to the hotel for lunch and eagle-eyed Zoltan noticed a perched Purple Heron. Always very shy, the boat approached very cautiously until we were able to get full frame shots before it flew off.

I was delighted with this as I have never managed a decent shot of a Purple Heron perched, always in flight.

After lunch, back to another lake where a lone Pygmy Cormorant also totally ignored us getting close.

Plenty of Black-necked Grebes still around, also in various stages of the nesting cycle, some still building, some on eggs and some with young.

Finally, while watching a lone White Pelican, we noticed that it was  re-acting to being harrassed by a Black-headed Gull.

A quick change of converter for a really close shot.

The photoboat was quite an experience. Although only 4 photographers and flat bottomed, it was necessary to time the shots between others moving about and also watch any wind-blown waves so there were plenty of duff shots but the facility to get in close to the subjects was amazing.

Tomorrow, it is travelling time. An hour and a half on the boat to Tulcea, pick up the minibus and then several hours drive to the Carpathian Mountains to photograph Brown Bears.