Garth Peacock
The last ten days or so

Archive

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

Romania Day 2 - 9th June 2019

Monday 24th June 2019

Romania Day1 - 8th June 2019

Friday 21st June 2019

Great Grey Shrike and others

Thursday 6th June 2019

The last ten days or so

Sunday 26th May 2019

Good weather at last

Friday 17th May 2019

5 days of not a lot

Saturday 4th May 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Sunday 26th May 2019

In my last blog, I said that I had not had the opportunity of editing the photos I took during Wednesday 15th May, due to 5 days away on a family visit. Well that day started at Lackford Lakes in Suffolk because there were reputed to be plenty of Warblers showing. Well, they are there but steadfastly refused to show for the camera.

So we concentrated on the local Kingfisher population, first at the Double Decker hide but I did not keep many as, quite frankly, I already have better. One I liked and kept.

We then moved on to Bessies Hide but the only bird showing were a pair of Moorhens with recently hatched chicks taking to the water.

We then made our way back to the reception centre where a pair of Kingfishers had nested in the special bank overlooking the pool. The adults landed on a perch in the pool before feeding the young in the nest

and then returning to the perch to clean up.

After lunch, we moved on to nearby Lakenheath Fen but the only birds showing for the camera were a pair of Coot with their most unattractive (well to me) young.

The end of the day.

After my family trip. I really needed to get out so I decided at the last minute to visit the WWT reserve at Welney last Friday.

Around the observatory, I had great fun trying to get a decent flight shot of the House Martins.

I was then very surprised to see a pair of Whooper Swans appear with two cygnets. Whooper Swans are migratory, spending the winter at Welney but breeding in Iceland. These should not be here. They mate for life and apparently one of the pair is injured and cannot fly so it's mate stayed with it and they bred here. Rather touching really.

Moving on to another hide, there were a couple of Avocet chicks feeding.

One of the adults took exception to a Shelduck being too close and a lot of sparring took place over a good half-an-hour without any contact but the Avocet finally eased the Shelduck away.

Not much to show again.