Garth Peacock
The last couple of weeks or so

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Wednesday 17th April 2019

It has taken a while for me to finish off the editing of the photos from my trip to Wales so that more recent photos have taken a back seat. Still all finished and up-to-date now except for this blog.

27th March - a visit to Santon Downham in Suffolk to try to photograph the Otters. As we arrived, they had been resting on a blown-down tree trunk that had fallen across the river but just left so we followed the mother and one cub upriver with some photo opportunities.

They then emerged to cross the path and disappeared into the reeds to the holt for the rest of the day. Show over!!!

On the way back we came across a Grey Wagtail that posed rather well.

with a surprising sighting of a Water Vole that I was delighted with as I have never photographed one before.

4th April - Another try for the Otters but this time they did not co-operate at all.

We also tried for the Woodlarks in the area but never managed to get close enough for good shots.

A local birder then explained where we could find a Rough-legged Buzzard at nearby Weeting Heath - no show - and the only bird on offer was a male Pheasant. Despite being beautiful birds, they rarely do anything of interest so are often ignored by photographers but this one paraded up and down and displayed so worth activating the camera for.

8th April - Bakers Fen Cambridgeshire. A quick morning trip to the hide but it was foggy when I arrived with little of interest except for a pair of Pochard mating, first time I have witnessed this.

A pair of Canada Geese came right up to the hide so a quicj head shot.

and the usual Coots fighting.

With the cloud still present, I was home by lunchtime.