Garth Peacock
Wales - Day4

Archive

Good weather at last

Friday 17th May 2019

5 days of not a lot

Saturday 4th May 2019

Week ending 26th April 2019

Monday 29th April 2019

The last couple of weeks or so

Wednesday 17th April 2019

Wales - Day 5

Monday 15th April 2019

Wales - Day4

Thursday 11th April 2019

North Wales - Day 3

Tuesday 9th April 2019

North Wales - Day 1 and 2

Sunday 7th April 2019

March so Far

Wednesday 13th March 2019

The last seven days

Monday 18th February 2019

The last two weeks of January

Wednesday 6th February 2019

Wildfowl Week

Monday 21st January 2019

Slim pickings for a month.

Monday 14th January 2019

Last one for 2018

Tuesday 11th December 2018

A week to remember

Monday 3rd December 2018

A couple of trips to norfolk

Friday 16th November 2018

Deer and more Deer

Thursday 15th November 2018

Some activity at last.

Saturday 3rd November 2018

Welney Widlife Trust Norfolk

Monday 22nd October 2018

View Blog Archive >>
Thursday 11th April 2019

Notice the change of heading? It is now Wales and not North Wales. The reason is that we drove south to the Newport area as we had arranged a couple of sessions in hides run by Ian Howells.

The first was an evening/night session in a hide specially set up to photograph Tawny Owl by flashlight - a totally new experience for me. We met Ian at our hotel and drove to the site - rather out-of-the-way - where there were two hides facing different directions, one for the Owls and the other for farmland birds, Buzzard and Sparrowhawk.

Ian set up the flash system which was connected to our own cameras and put out the bait. He explained to us how to set up our cameras and then we just waited for nightfall and the visiting Tawny Owl

We left around 1.00am after just three visits but enough to get some decent shots.

Ian had expected more visits but he thought that the female was sitting on eggs and not coming in to feed. Still, quite an experience.