Garth Peacock
Wales - Day4

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Thursday 11th April 2019

Notice the change of heading? It is now Wales and not North Wales. The reason is that we drove south to the Newport area as we had arranged a couple of sessions in hides run by Ian Howells.

The first was an evening/night session in a hide specially set up to photograph Tawny Owl by flashlight - a totally new experience for me. We met Ian at our hotel and drove to the site - rather out-of-the-way - where there were two hides facing different directions, one for the Owls and the other for farmland birds, Buzzard and Sparrowhawk.

Ian set up the flash system which was connected to our own cameras and put out the bait. He explained to us how to set up our cameras and then we just waited for nightfall and the visiting Tawny Owl

We left around 1.00am after just three visits but enough to get some decent shots.

Ian had expected more visits but he thought that the female was sitting on eggs and not coming in to feed. Still, quite an experience.