Garth Peacock
North Wales - Day 3

Archive

Good weather at last

Friday 17th May 2019

5 days of not a lot

Saturday 4th May 2019

Week ending 26th April 2019

Monday 29th April 2019

The last couple of weeks or so

Wednesday 17th April 2019

Wales - Day 5

Monday 15th April 2019

Wales - Day4

Thursday 11th April 2019

North Wales - Day 3

Tuesday 9th April 2019

North Wales - Day 1 and 2

Sunday 7th April 2019

March so Far

Wednesday 13th March 2019

The last seven days

Monday 18th February 2019

The last two weeks of January

Wednesday 6th February 2019

Wildfowl Week

Monday 21st January 2019

Slim pickings for a month.

Monday 14th January 2019

Last one for 2018

Tuesday 11th December 2018

A week to remember

Monday 3rd December 2018

A couple of trips to norfolk

Friday 16th November 2018

Deer and more Deer

Thursday 15th November 2018

Some activity at last.

Saturday 3rd November 2018

Welney Widlife Trust Norfolk

Monday 22nd October 2018

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 9th April 2019

I was expecting one more new species on this trip and today was the planned day. We headed off for Anglesey to South Stack to photograph Chough. I had not even seen on, let alone photograph one - well there are not too many in East Anglia!!!

We drove over the Menai Strait towards Holyhead where we checked out the harbour for divers - none we could see but the weather was glorious sunshine. Carrying on towards South Stack, I noticed a low bank of cloud and we soon drove into thick fog. Despite hanging around for several hours, it did not clear and the only Chough we found were in a field about 50/60 metres away, just about visible in the fog. I took a few record shots, just to be safe - just as well as that was the only Chough we saw.

Probably the worst photos I have ever posted to this site - a real record shot. Another trip required, I think.

Leaving Anglesey, we emerged into bright sunlight again, and drove towards Conwy to check out a site for Dippers - failed again.

So we made our way towards Langollen via Llanberis, calling in to a roadside mountain lake, Llyn Padarn, where a pair of Goosanders were very co-operative. I just sat down by the side of the lake and took some photos.

The rest of the trip to Llangollen was uneventful except for thick cloud and rain on the far side of the Llanberis Pass right until a few miles from our destination which had enjoyed bright sunshine all day!!!