Garth Peacock
March so Far

Archive

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

Romania Day 2 - 9th June 2019

Monday 24th June 2019

Romania Day1 - 8th June 2019

Friday 21st June 2019

Great Grey Shrike and others

Thursday 6th June 2019

The last ten days or so

Sunday 26th May 2019

Good weather at last

Friday 17th May 2019

5 days of not a lot

Saturday 4th May 2019

Week ending 26th April 2019

Monday 29th April 2019

The last couple of weeks or so

Wednesday 17th April 2019

Wales - Day 5

Monday 15th April 2019

Wales - Day4

Thursday 11th April 2019

North Wales - Day 3

Tuesday 9th April 2019

North Wales - Day 1 and 2

Sunday 7th April 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Wednesday 13th March 2019

The weather has been rather restricting over the past couple of weeks so I have only managed a couple of trips.

The first was to north Norfolk, primarily to Holkham to see if I could improve on the photos of Shorelarks that I took a few weeks ago. I did managed to find three after quite a search and this time much closer but never managed a clear uninterrupted shot.

Quite disappointing as was the rest of the day. At Brancaster Staithe, we did see a female Red-breasted Merganser moving up the channel towards us. We re-located the car to get good shots - and after 10 minutes or so of moving closer but still not within range, it promptly turned round and headed back up the channel.

We finished up at Titchwell RSPB - still very disappointing. Water levels too high so nothing of interest on the freshmarsh but a flock of Knot were feeding on the brackish marsh.

The weather then closed in so time to go home.

This week my only trip was to Fowlmere RSPB.  A juvenile Hen Harrier was roosting there, usually between 4.00pm and dusk. In the interim period, the local Greylag Geese were still there, making noise, flying around, landing

and then mating - well it is now officially spring!!!

In the late afternoon sun a Moorhen posed nicely for a picture.

and I was kept enterrtained by the Little Grebes, firstly by one out in the open

bathing

wing flapping

and displaying.

The Hen Harrier was not seen by the time the light had gone so time for home.