Garth Peacock
It's all still very hard work

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Wednesday 17th October 2018

This is a familiar story and although it is no consolation, many others are finding the same thing. Despite it being the height of the migration season, there is very little about. The weather is the main factor - winds from the north to the east are required and most have been from the south-west making flight in a southerly direction difficult.

Anyway, on 9th of this month, with a couple of hours to spare, I went to my local RSPB reserve at Fen Drayton. As expected, nothing really exciting but a Long-tailed Tit eyeing up a passing fly was worth a shot

and a female Kestrel, while some distance away and against the light, was of interest for something different.

On 10th, a friend and I decided to try somewhere that we had not visited for some time - Strumpshaw Fen RSPB near Norwich. Local photgraphers had had recent success with some Bearded Tits - well we didn't!!!

In an effort to make something of the trip, I took a Mute Swan with a nice reflection

and a Black Swan too.

Black Swans are unusual as they are an Australian species introduced here and any found are escapees so not really exciting but worth a pop with the shutter button.

Going to the far hide, there were only common wildfowl.

and that was the sum total of the day.

Yesterday, (16th), we travelled to north Norfolk. A particular species, Shorelark had arrived but in a large area of saltmarsh, we did not track them down. The weather was supposed to be fine and sunny. It was grey and horrible.

After the first miss, we went to nearby Thornham. Couldn't resist one of the local Curlews in a natural setting

or a female Kestrel that hovered relatively close but against a grey sky backdrop.

Just after lunch, with the weather still grey and dismal, we went to Titchwell RSPB. The hide was packed but there was nothing of interest to be seen from it anyway. From the path, a Ruff was eyeing up a snack.

and then onto the beach with the tide receding. The sun appeared for half-an-hour or so but there was only common species on the tideline. Once again, I tried to make something decent and different, firstly with a Black-tailed Godwit

and a sole Knot

Not much to show for our efforts.