Garth Peacock
It's all still very hard work

Archive

A couple of trips to norfolk

Friday 16th November 2018

Deer and more Deer

Thursday 15th November 2018

Some activity at last.

Saturday 3rd November 2018

Welney Widlife Trust Norfolk

Monday 22nd October 2018

It's all still very hard work

Wednesday 17th October 2018

It's not getting any easier

Saturday 6th October 2018

A stormy week

Sunday 23rd September 2018

It's all still very hard work

Sunday 16th September 2018

Bits and bobs over the last 10 days

Sunday 9th September 2018

Another update

Monday 27th August 2018

About time for an update.

Friday 10th August 2018

Bitterns and a Hobby

Tuesday 17th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 5

Wednesday 11th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 4

Thursday 5th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 3

Wednesday 27th June 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 2

Friday 15th June 2018

The first afternoon

Tuesday 5th June 2018

View Blog Archive >>
Wednesday 17th October 2018

This is a familiar story and although it is no consolation, many others are finding the same thing. Despite it being the height of the migration season, there is very little about. The weather is the main factor - winds from the north to the east are required and most have been from the south-west making flight in a southerly direction difficult.

Anyway, on 9th of this month, with a couple of hours to spare, I went to my local RSPB reserve at Fen Drayton. As expected, nothing really exciting but a Long-tailed Tit eyeing up a passing fly was worth a shot

and a female Kestrel, while some distance away and against the light, was of interest for something different.

On 10th, a friend and I decided to try somewhere that we had not visited for some time - Strumpshaw Fen RSPB near Norwich. Local photgraphers had had recent success with some Bearded Tits - well we didn't!!!

In an effort to make something of the trip, I took a Mute Swan with a nice reflection

and a Black Swan too.

Black Swans are unusual as they are an Australian species introduced here and any found are escapees so not really exciting but worth a pop with the shutter button.

Going to the far hide, there were only common wildfowl.

and that was the sum total of the day.

Yesterday, (16th), we travelled to north Norfolk. A particular species, Shorelark had arrived but in a large area of saltmarsh, we did not track them down. The weather was supposed to be fine and sunny. It was grey and horrible.

After the first miss, we went to nearby Thornham. Couldn't resist one of the local Curlews in a natural setting

or a female Kestrel that hovered relatively close but against a grey sky backdrop.

Just after lunch, with the weather still grey and dismal, we went to Titchwell RSPB. The hide was packed but there was nothing of interest to be seen from it anyway. From the path, a Ruff was eyeing up a snack.

and then onto the beach with the tide receding. The sun appeared for half-an-hour or so but there was only common species on the tideline. Once again, I tried to make something decent and different, firstly with a Black-tailed Godwit

and a sole Knot

Not much to show for our efforts.