Garth Peacock
It's not getting any easier

Archive

It's not getting any easier

Saturday 6th October 2018

A stormy week

Sunday 23rd September 2018

It's all still very hard work

Sunday 16th September 2018

Bits and bobs over the last 10 days

Sunday 9th September 2018

Another update

Monday 27th August 2018

About time for an update.

Friday 10th August 2018

Bitterns and a Hobby

Tuesday 17th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 5

Wednesday 11th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 4

Thursday 5th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 3

Wednesday 27th June 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 2

Friday 15th June 2018

The first afternoon

Tuesday 5th June 2018

A long journey to......

Sunday 3rd June 2018

Week ending 11th May 2018

Thursday 17th May 2018

Local trips.

Tuesday 24th April 2018

Scotland - the last three days

Wednesday 18th April 2018

View Blog Archive >>
Saturday 6th October 2018

The last couple of weeks were interspersed by an extended weekend in Munich visiting family and that reduced my time in the field to just a couple of trips. Just before we left, I tried to take advantage of the cracking weather on Tusday 25th September and spent the afternoon at Titchwell RSPB.

It is possible to get some great photos at Titchwell late afternoon with the sun out, light or no wind and the water level just right. Rather more breezy than I would have liked but two out of three isn't bad.

First visit was the track to the beach. A couple of Juvenile Spoonbills on Thornham Marsh were interesting

but I was really disappointed that there was a heat haze so nearly all of my shots were destined for the trash can.

On the beach, with the tide out, I found my first Knot of the winter.

but the only other bird of interest was a bathing Reshank - a common bird but at least it was doing something!!!

Back in the hide, there were very few birds close enough to photograph - Teal but I have load of photos of them - and Ruff - also loads of photos of them too. So I concentrated on finding Ruff flying around.

and bathing.

Not much to show from the trip.

After the weekend, on Wednesday 3rd October, a friend and I travelled to Frampton Marsh, Lincolnshire as some interesting stuff had been reported. Shortly after leaving, it started to rain (definitely not forecast) and that continued for most of the morning.

Arriving at the site, it quickly became apparent that there was only one scrape with water in it, the areas around the main two hides being bone dry.

Taking the car to the smaller car park near the sea wall, we noticed a Snipe feeding in a channel. Dull cloudy conditions and drizzle are not really conducive to good photos but Snipe are usually difficult to get close to out in the open so worth a crack.

500 lens, 2x converter, ISO 3200. That will mean something to those that are familiar with DSLR cameras so I was not expecting anything exciting but was very pleased with the result. Just shows that it always worth a punt.

With nothing else around, we made our way home, calling in at Kings Dyke reserve at Whittlesey but nothing of interest in the menu.

Good weather forecast for next week - hope things improve.