Garth Peacock
It's all still very hard work

Archive

It's not getting any easier

Saturday 6th October 2018

A stormy week

Sunday 23rd September 2018

It's all still very hard work

Sunday 16th September 2018

Bits and bobs over the last 10 days

Sunday 9th September 2018

Another update

Monday 27th August 2018

About time for an update.

Friday 10th August 2018

Bitterns and a Hobby

Tuesday 17th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 5

Wednesday 11th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 4

Thursday 5th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 3

Wednesday 27th June 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 2

Friday 15th June 2018

The first afternoon

Tuesday 5th June 2018

A long journey to......

Sunday 3rd June 2018

Week ending 11th May 2018

Thursday 17th May 2018

Local trips.

Tuesday 24th April 2018

Scotland - the last three days

Wednesday 18th April 2018

View Blog Archive >>
Sunday 16th September 2018

Last week was one of mixed fortunes but still very hard work and lots of luck needed to achieve anything to post on this website.

On Monday 10th September, I visited Lackford Lakes Suffolk hoping for some decent shots of Green Sandpiper and Kingfisher. There was no water at all where the Green Sandpipers usually feed and the Kingfisher refused to play ball so no photos at all for the day.

On Wednesday 12th, I decided to make a quick visit to Fen Drayton Lakes. A week ago, I spent a very enjoyable hour or so photographing House Sparrows busily feeding on a blackberry bush. They were still there so I could not resist another session.

Nearby, I noticed a Yellowhammer sitting on a branch minding it's own business. It allowed me a close approach in the car. and that was it.

The next day, I travelled south east to Landguard Suffolk as a rarish bird, a Wryneck was on show. Wryneck is a member of the woodpecker family and only visits the UK on migration. It is a ground feeder with ants in particular on the menu.

Now I do not go on twitches - too many people and an inability to get close to the subject to get decent images. The bird - in fact there were two - had been there for nearly a week so I thought it would be quiet with the initial rush over. No such luck. A semi-circle of birders and photographers with the bird showing occasionally and too distant for anything to shout about.

The same story with another couple of species - a Whinchat and a Lesser Whitethroat

However, there was another migrant, a Wheatear, that proved to be particularly co-operative allowing a very close approach.

So not a particularly good week. As I said at the top of this blog - hard work!!!