Garth Peacock
Bitterns and a Hobby

Archive

A couple of trips to norfolk

Friday 16th November 2018

Deer and more Deer

Thursday 15th November 2018

Some activity at last.

Saturday 3rd November 2018

Welney Widlife Trust Norfolk

Monday 22nd October 2018

It's all still very hard work

Wednesday 17th October 2018

It's not getting any easier

Saturday 6th October 2018

A stormy week

Sunday 23rd September 2018

It's all still very hard work

Sunday 16th September 2018

Bits and bobs over the last 10 days

Sunday 9th September 2018

Another update

Monday 27th August 2018

About time for an update.

Friday 10th August 2018

Bitterns and a Hobby

Tuesday 17th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 5

Wednesday 11th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 4

Thursday 5th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 3

Wednesday 27th June 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 2

Friday 15th June 2018

The first afternoon

Tuesday 5th June 2018

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 17th July 2018

I am just about catching up on the backlog of photos, just one more to go after this and I will be up-to-date. That is the problem with photo trips away - there are so many photos to edit that it takes ages to clear them all.

A month ago, 18th June to be precise, a friend and I decided to visit Lakenheath RSPB in Suffolk. This was to be my final trip before my operation would put me out of action for a time.

We decided to stay in the one hide for the morning and see what happened - weather good - and a couple of others already there when we arrived. First we saw a Bittern flying past and then realised that it had a nest just the far side of the pool that the hide overlooked. We were soon able to get some decent images.

A Common Tern dropped in to fish, and the usual  family of Coot put on a display.

Then, a Hobby decided to hunt for Dragonflies in front of the hide. They fly extremely fast when hunting so getting any sort of picture was a real challenge as it was so close but persistance finally paid off.

Overall, a successful morning. More images in the Recent Additions section.