Garth Peacock
The Danube Delta - Day 4

Archive

Romania Day2

Monday 24th June 2019

Romania Day1

Friday 21st June 2019

Great Grey Shrike and others

Thursday 6th June 2019

The last ten days or so

Sunday 26th May 2019

Good weather at last

Friday 17th May 2019

5 days of not a lot

Saturday 4th May 2019

Week ending 26th April 2019

Monday 29th April 2019

The last couple of weeks or so

Wednesday 17th April 2019

Wales - Day 5

Monday 15th April 2019

Wales - Day4

Thursday 11th April 2019

North Wales - Day 3

Tuesday 9th April 2019

North Wales - Day 1 and 2

Sunday 7th April 2019

March so Far

Wednesday 13th March 2019

The last seven days

Monday 18th February 2019

The last two weeks of January

Wednesday 6th February 2019

Wildfowl Week

Monday 21st January 2019

Slim pickings for a month.

Monday 14th January 2019

Last one for 2018

Tuesday 11th December 2018

A week to remember

Monday 3rd December 2018

View Blog Archive >>
Thursday 5th July 2018

This seems to be so long ago now - 23rd May 2018 - but it takes a lot of work and time to carefully edit several thousand photos. And I still have two more days to go.

Well, with the recuperation from the operation and the very hot weather we are experiencing, the best and coolest place to be is in my study, editing photos among other jobs that need to be done.

Day 4 saw us with another very early start - 4.30am - as we were to have another session in the Golden Jackal hide, hopefully for a longer visiting White-tailed Eagle. A beautiful sunrise and that lovely golden light, so sought after by photographers - well landscape photographers anyway. I remain convinced if it is of benefit to wildlife photography. You can make your own mind up about that as the first to appear were the Golden Jackals - really looking golden in the morning light.

and even some interaction to show who's boss.

Even a Hooded Crow looked rather more upmarket in this light.

The pair of Ravens were still hanging around, bossing the food supply.

A Caspian Gull visited, once again appearing rather dapper.

and a Raven checked out the clicking cameras by looking into the hide window.

It then went totally quiet for ther rest of the morning until lunch. No White-tailed Eagles visited at all.

In the afternoon, we were loaded into the back of the four-wheel drive for a safari. The open back has seats fitted back to front which is a common method of transportation in the area. We headed to a nearby wetland near the villge of Letea where the first we noticed was a flock of White Pelicans.

I am not sure whether the correct name is 'White Pelican' or 'Great White Pelican. I have seen both but in Romania they use the former so I am too.

Driving along a bank overlooking the wetland, a summer plumage Curlew Sandpiper was feeding

and then we stopped with nothing in sight - until a lone Fox cub made an appearance from the set in the bank just across the water.

and soon we had two and then three enjoying the sunshine.

This den had been noticed by the reserve staff a few days earlier.

Moving on after a time with the foxcubs, we passed a flooded field with Glossy Ibis showing rather distantly.

A rather scruffy White Stork came really close.

and then we hit gold - a Squacco Heron - rare in the UK but showing beautifully in the late afternoon sun.

before making a brief flight to a post and then flying off again

One of the species that I was particularly hoping for was Collared Pratincole that usually nest in colonies on this wetland - well not this year as the high water had forced them to an inaccessible site some miles away. That was a major disappointment for me.

Time for dinner.