Garth Peacock
The first afternoon

Archive

About time for an update.

Friday 10th August 2018

Bitterns and a Hobby

Tuesday 17th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 5

Wednesday 11th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 4

Thursday 5th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 3

Wednesday 27th June 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 2

Friday 15th June 2018

The first afternoon

Tuesday 5th June 2018

A long journey to......

Sunday 3rd June 2018

Week ending 11th May 2018

Thursday 17th May 2018

Local trips.

Tuesday 24th April 2018

Scotland - the last three days

Wednesday 18th April 2018

Scotland day 6

Tuesday 17th April 2018

Scotland - Day 5 - A mammal day

Friday 13th April 2018

Scotland - Days 3 & 4

Thursday 12th April 2018

Scotland - Day2

Tuesday 10th April 2018

Scotland - Day 1

Wednesday 4th April 2018

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 5th June 2018

On the reserve, there is, what is referred to as the drinking pool hide. Seemed rather strange to me as it is sited right next to a stream but food was put out to attract the birds. It is a two person hide with the usual glass front and in a wooded area.

We were collected from the hotel at around 3.30pm. By now, the sun was starting to show. Dappled light is not the easiest light to contend with but we made the best of it.

We were surprised just how many Cuckoos there were on the reserve and one made a rather distant appearance.

Unlike the UK, there were Tree Sparrows in abundance with one dropping in

and others following.

Under the drinking pool, there was a small family of Brown Rats that kept making rapid forays to collect the food.

and finally, what we were hoping for. A Grey-headed Woodpecker flew in. This is a species not found in the UK and a first for both of us.

Finally as it quietened down we were treated to a quick visit from a male Common Redstart in breeding plumage - quite a sight - but it did not perform well for the cameras.

Finally, we were collected from the hide at 7.30pm ready for dinner at 8.30pm and an early night.