Garth Peacock
Ultima Frontiera - the action commences.

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Monday 4th June 2018

So it was in the vehicle at 5.00am for a 15 minute drive to the first hide. It accomodated all 6 of us with a toilet of sorts. We had to arrive around dawn as one of the target species, White-tailed Eagle, would not perform if we were seen. The bait was two large fishes that were anchored down and then it was time to wait for developments.

Weather was cloudy with the odd shower, but warm - rising to lower 20's centigrade.

The usual Hooded Crows soon came in.

arguing over the food.

Settling down, another of the target species, Golden Jackal, quickly made a cautious appearance. This is an African species that is beginning to colonise Europe. In fact our Danish members said that the odd one had been reported in Denmark.

and then we were checked out by a Raven, a naturally very wary species.

with up to five Golden Jackals arriving.

The sole Raven soon became a pair

with displaying activity.

One White-tailed Eagle was watching proceedings from a tree top about a kilometere away but eventually flew in.

It was an immature bird and tried to feed from a fish located in the top of a tree stump

but not entirely successfully as it was severly harrassed by by the Hooded Crows and the Ravens.

After a couple of hours of frenzied activity, things quietened down. In the distance a couple of Marsh Harriers were patrolling the reedbeds and one came close enough for a photo.

Finally, we were collected at around 11.00 am to return to the hotel, lunch, downloading and a rest before the afternoon session.

Loads more photos of this session in the Recent Additions section.