Garth Peacock
The last few days - local trips.

Archive

Good weather at last

Friday 17th May 2019

5 days of not a lot

Saturday 4th May 2019

Week ending 26th April 2019

Monday 29th April 2019

The last couple of weeks or so

Wednesday 17th April 2019

Wales - Day 5

Monday 15th April 2019

Wales - Day4

Thursday 11th April 2019

North Wales - Day 3

Tuesday 9th April 2019

North Wales - Day 1 and 2

Sunday 7th April 2019

March so Far

Wednesday 13th March 2019

The last seven days

Monday 18th February 2019

The last two weeks of January

Wednesday 6th February 2019

Wildfowl Week

Monday 21st January 2019

Slim pickings for a month.

Monday 14th January 2019

Last one for 2018

Tuesday 11th December 2018

A week to remember

Monday 3rd December 2018

A couple of trips to norfolk

Friday 16th November 2018

Deer and more Deer

Thursday 15th November 2018

Some activity at last.

Saturday 3rd November 2018

Welney Widlife Trust Norfolk

Monday 22nd October 2018

View Blog Archive >>
Monday 7th May 2018

I have been suffering from a trapped nerve in my back for the past few weeks that has made it difficult to get out because it affected my right leg. To make matters far worse, a couple of weeks ago, I re-activated an old injury to my right knee so was confined to the house for a time - frustration!!!!

Last week, I decided to drive to Fen Drayton Lakes and see what was possible from the car. A few years ago, this was a regular trip and there was always something of interest but various factors have combined to make this far less interesting - and so it transpired with just one photo opportunity - a very close Dunnock.

The next day, hearing cheeping in my back garden, I noticed a male House Sparrow near my garden feeders. Moving as fast as my knee would allow, I got the camera, gently opened the bedroom window and there it was sitting on the perch.

A flock of House Sparrows used to be a permanent fixture in my garden but not now - this was the first visit for a couple of years so worth getting excited about.

Last Thursday, I went to the RSPB reserve at Fowlmere. I hobbled to the first hide and sat there for the morning in glorious sunshine, waiting for something to happen. A pair of Little Grebes were in an out of the reeds but nothing special.

A pair of Greylag Geese paddled past the hide with three goslings in tow - a nice family shot.

and even the youngsters on their own.

And then a Little Grebe chick appeared from the reeds searching to be fed - unusual and a decent opportunity for something different.

and when the parents decided to do something else apart from feeding the chick, it really gave off in no uncertain terms.

Nice to know that even birds have trouble with unruly youngsters.

After being fed, the chick gave a lone photo opportunity.

With the sun getting high and the light very contrasty, I hobbled back to the car.