Garth Peacock
Scotland - the last three days

Archive

Good weather at last

Friday 17th May 2019

5 days of not a lot

Saturday 4th May 2019

Week ending 26th April 2019

Monday 29th April 2019

The last couple of weeks or so

Wednesday 17th April 2019

Wales - Day 5

Monday 15th April 2019

Wales - Day4

Thursday 11th April 2019

North Wales - Day 3

Tuesday 9th April 2019

North Wales - Day 1 and 2

Sunday 7th April 2019

March so Far

Wednesday 13th March 2019

The last seven days

Monday 18th February 2019

The last two weeks of January

Wednesday 6th February 2019

Wildfowl Week

Monday 21st January 2019

Slim pickings for a month.

Monday 14th January 2019

Last one for 2018

Tuesday 11th December 2018

A week to remember

Monday 3rd December 2018

A couple of trips to norfolk

Friday 16th November 2018

Deer and more Deer

Thursday 15th November 2018

Some activity at last.

Saturday 3rd November 2018

Welney Widlife Trust Norfolk

Monday 22nd October 2018

View Blog Archive >>
Wednesday 18th April 2018

The last three days produced very little of real interest. Saturday 24th March, we had booked a hide to photograph Crested Tits - except we did not see any - just common stuff we could have got at home although they looked quite attractive on the perch.

At lunchtime, we moved on to the site we had found on the first day at Loch Garton but this was a Saturday, nice weather, and there were too many people around to get anything of note.

Sunday 25th we started our journey home but taking the long way round, firstly through the Glenlivet Estate with loads of Pheasants.

Gorgeous scenery but not much birdlife to photograph.

We went to the Glenshee ski resort as there was information that Ptarmigan could be seen from the car park but, once again, being a weekend, it was packed. I did spot a Mountain Hare in the heather

but as we tried to get close, it was spooked. Then the long drive to our half-way stage at Moffat.

The next day, on the final leg of our journey, we turned off the A66 into the Yorkshire Dales to Tan Hill, a place where we had stayed for a night or two a couple of years back. Plenty of male Red Grouse about

and a female

but not much else. The previous cold weather seemed to have delayed the migrants. We were hoping for Black Grouse as a real bonus. Just as we had given up, and coming down off the moors, I noticed one perched on a stone wall. Rather distant as we shot from the car

but as we tried to get closer, it disappeared. Since this is only the second time that I have seen one, I was delighted although the bird was positioned behind a wire fence. Contrary to my golden rule regarding the use of Photoshop, because this was a rarity for me, I have taken out the wires that stretched across the bird.

End of trip to Scotland. As is usual with such trips, some good, some not so good, but, overall, the weather was kind to us and it was very enjoyable, with good company.