Garth Peacock
Scotland - Day 5 - A mammal day

Archive

It's not getting any easier

Saturday 6th October 2018

A stormy week

Sunday 23rd September 2018

It's all still very hard work

Sunday 16th September 2018

Bits and bobs over the last 10 days

Sunday 9th September 2018

Another update

Monday 27th August 2018

About time for an update.

Friday 10th August 2018

Bitterns and a Hobby

Tuesday 17th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 5

Wednesday 11th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 4

Thursday 5th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 3

Wednesday 27th June 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 2

Friday 15th June 2018

The first afternoon

Tuesday 5th June 2018

A long journey to......

Sunday 3rd June 2018

Week ending 11th May 2018

Thursday 17th May 2018

Local trips.

Tuesday 24th April 2018

Scotland - the last three days

Wednesday 18th April 2018

View Blog Archive >>
Friday 13th April 2018

It is not everyone's cup of tea, but I like hide photography. If properly planned, you can experiment with different shots. So, to start off Day 5, we booked a specialist hide for Red Squirrels located in the Rothiemurchus forest. It was owned by Neil McIntyre, a well know Scottish Photographer.

It was obvious that he knew what it was all about - spacious hide, well located, plenty of photogenic perches, food to attract the Squirrels and camera mounting plates. There was a couple from Northumberland with us but there was ample room.

Perched Squirrels was easy.

and the usual one on a tree.

so, after a while, it was time to experiment - how about a moving Squirrel.

and a jumping one.

A back-lit jumping one

and the most difficult one of all with such a fast moving subject, jumping towards the camera.

After 4 hours, we had exhausted all the possibilities so moved on to Laggan to see if we could find Red Deer. This is a long country road leading up into the mountains and about half-way, we found a couple of Red Deer stags by the road but just too close to focus on before they wandered into the forest.

Disappointed, we carried on round the next corner and was greeted by a sight I will never forget - a field next to the road with 30 -40 Red Deer in it and with mountains as a backdrop. So we filled our boots, first with a group

and then concentrating on singles to try to capture  the impressiveness of the species in their natural surroundings.

Have I succeeded? - I will leave that to you to decide but well pleased, we made our way back to the hotel but not before finding a Brown Hare close to the road that stayed for a while.

even allowing close-ups

before bolting to the nearest rocks.

A very fruitful and enjoyable day.

More images of these species in the  Recent Additions section.

 if it's worth anything. Lots of websites like Goldsmiths and breitling heaven have valuation forms where you can fill in your replica watch