Garth Peacock
Scotland - Days 3 & 4

Archive

Local trips.

Tuesday 24th April 2018

Scotland - the last three days

Wednesday 18th April 2018

Scotland day 6

Tuesday 17th April 2018

Scotland - Day 5 - A mammal day

Friday 13th April 2018

Scotland - Days 3 & 4

Thursday 12th April 2018

Scotland - Day2

Tuesday 10th April 2018

Scotland - Day 1

Wednesday 4th April 2018

Catch-up time on nothing much.

Monday 12th March 2018

A trip to Northamptonshire

Tuesday 27th February 2018

What a delightful surprise

Monday 5th February 2018

What a week it wasn't

Sunday 4th February 2018

Week ending 19th January 2018

Monday 22nd January 2018

First outing of 2018

Monday 8th January 2018

A snowy start to the week.

Saturday 16th December 2017

Sucesses and failures in equal measure

Wednesday 13th December 2017

A morning of common birds

Sunday 26th November 2017

Wicken Fen Cambridgeshire

Tuesday 21st November 2017

The past ten days.

Thursday 16th November 2017

Birdguides Photo of the Week

Wednesday 8th November 2017

A week in pictures

Friday 3rd November 2017

View Blog Archive >>
Thursday 12th April 2018

For Day 3, with the weather still bright and sunny, we drove to the Findhorn Valley. Well, my friend drove as he did for the whole of the trip. The Findhorn Valley is well know for raptors, particularly the odd sightings of Golden Eagles but all we saw were Common Buzzards.

First on view near the road was a small herd of Roe Deer.

Looking for a Breitling Replica Watch information? Click here to Website.

However, the last time we were here, we managed distant shots of Dippers and I really wanted to improve on them. Dippers like fast flowing steams so they do not frequent East Anglia (except for one this winter that I never did find despite several trips). Anyway, we found a pair on the main Findhorn river. After a time, they accepted us hiding behind rocks on the shore although photography was very tricky due to the very harsh and contrasty light.

Really, that was it for this area - rather disappointing although still very enjoyable because the scenery was superb. Even managed a few landscapes!!!

Day 4, we headed for the coast, particularly Burghead harbour but all that was there was a pair of Shag.

It was very windy and, with high tide, we found a flock of Turnstone sheltering on the top of the sea wall - most unusual sight but since the sea wall was about 6 ft high, not easy to get decent shots of.

On the far sea wall, a Herring Gull was struggling to eat a Dab. Tried to swallow it several times unsuccessfully until a competitor tried to steal it - soon made short work of it then.

Burghead harbour also has a couple of Rock Pipits, once again scarce in East Anglia being winter visitors but eventually we found one being very co-operative to us clicking away from the car.

After that, we drove further round the coast but the wind was against us and all we found was a female Stonechat in the gorse at Findhorn Bay but it made for a colourful image.

Then the drive to back our hotel and decisions regarding our programme for tomorrow.