Garth Peacock
Scotland - Day 1

Archive

Last one for 2018

Tuesday 11th December 2018

A week to remember

Monday 3rd December 2018

A couple of trips to norfolk

Friday 16th November 2018

Deer and more Deer

Thursday 15th November 2018

Some activity at last.

Saturday 3rd November 2018

Welney Widlife Trust Norfolk

Monday 22nd October 2018

It's all still very hard work

Wednesday 17th October 2018

It's not getting any easier

Saturday 6th October 2018

A stormy week

Sunday 23rd September 2018

It's all still very hard work

Sunday 16th September 2018

Bits and bobs over the last 10 days

Sunday 9th September 2018

Another update

Monday 27th August 2018

About time for an update.

Friday 10th August 2018

Bitterns and a Hobby

Tuesday 17th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 5

Wednesday 11th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 4

Thursday 5th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 3

Wednesday 27th June 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 2

Friday 15th June 2018

View Blog Archive >>
Wednesday 4th April 2018

Well, strictly speaking, not day 1 as we travelled half-way to Moffat on Saturday 17th March and then continued our journey on Sunday 18th March. Weather not good - it was the weekend of the mini 'Beast-from-the-East' so we hit some snow showers on the way but nothing to get worried about and it impoved the further north we travelled. Our destination was Grantown-on-Spey for the week, staying at the well-known Grant Arms Hotel - well known to the birding fraternity that is.

Anyway, we arrived in the area around lunchtime so decided to drop into the RSPB reserve at Loch Garten. We stopped in a lay-by about half-a-mile short of it to get our camera gear out of the boot and noticed loads of birds in the trees so we put down some seed and they immediately came down to feed. Numerous Coal Tits

Great Tits

and Chaffinches

Of course, these are common back home but we were hoping for the Scottich endemic Crested Tit and several eventually came down too.

An excellent start to the break so we checked in at the hotel to decide on the itinery for tomorrow.