Garth Peacock
Scotland - Day 1

Archive

Local trips.

Tuesday 24th April 2018

Scotland - the last three days

Wednesday 18th April 2018

Scotland day 6

Tuesday 17th April 2018

Scotland - Day 5 - A mammal day

Friday 13th April 2018

Scotland - Days 3 & 4

Thursday 12th April 2018

Scotland - Day2

Tuesday 10th April 2018

Scotland - Day 1

Wednesday 4th April 2018

Catch-up time on nothing much.

Monday 12th March 2018

A trip to Northamptonshire

Tuesday 27th February 2018

What a delightful surprise

Monday 5th February 2018

What a week it wasn't

Sunday 4th February 2018

Week ending 19th January 2018

Monday 22nd January 2018

First outing of 2018

Monday 8th January 2018

A snowy start to the week.

Saturday 16th December 2017

Sucesses and failures in equal measure

Wednesday 13th December 2017

A morning of common birds

Sunday 26th November 2017

Wicken Fen Cambridgeshire

Tuesday 21st November 2017

The past ten days.

Thursday 16th November 2017

Birdguides Photo of the Week

Wednesday 8th November 2017

A week in pictures

Friday 3rd November 2017

View Blog Archive >>
Wednesday 4th April 2018

Well, strictly speaking, not day 1 as we travelled half-way to Moffat on Saturday 17th March and then continued our journey on Sunday 18th March. Weather not good - it was the weekend of the mini 'Beast-from-the-East' so we hit some snow showers on the way but nothing to get worried about and it impoved the further north we travelled. Our destination was Grantown-on-Spey for the week, staying at the well-known Grant Arms Hotel - well known to the birding fraternity that is.

Anyway, we arrived in the area around lunchtime so decided to drop into the RSPB reserve at Loch Garten. We stopped in a lay-by about half-a-mile short of it to get our camera gear out of the boot and noticed loads of birds in the trees so we put down some seed and they immediately came down to feed. Numerous Coal Tits

Great Tits

and Chaffinches

Of course, these are common back home but we were hoping for the Scottich endemic Crested Tit and several eventually came down too.

An excellent start to the break so we checked in at the hotel to decide on the itinery for tomorrow.