Garth Peacock
Scotland - Day 1

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Wednesday 4th April 2018

Well, strictly speaking, not day 1 as we travelled half-way to Moffat on Saturday 17th March and then continued our journey on Sunday 18th March. Weather not good - it was the weekend of the mini 'Beast-from-the-East' so we hit some snow showers on the way but nothing to get worried about and it impoved the further north we travelled. Our destination was Grantown-on-Spey for the week, staying at the well-known Grant Arms Hotel - well known to the birding fraternity that is.

Anyway, we arrived in the area around lunchtime so decided to drop into the RSPB reserve at Loch Garten. We stopped in a lay-by about half-a-mile short of it to get our camera gear out of the boot and noticed loads of birds in the trees so we put down some seed and they immediately came down to feed. Numerous Coal Tits

Great Tits

and Chaffinches

Of course, these are common back home but we were hoping for the Scottich endemic Crested Tit and several eventually came down too.

An excellent start to the break so we checked in at the hotel to decide on the itinery for tomorrow.