Garth Peacock
A trip to Northamptonshire

Archive

Week ending 11th May 2018

Thursday 17th May 2018

Local trips.

Tuesday 24th April 2018

Scotland - the last three days

Wednesday 18th April 2018

Scotland day 6

Tuesday 17th April 2018

Scotland - Day 5 - A mammal day

Friday 13th April 2018

Scotland - Days 3 & 4

Thursday 12th April 2018

Scotland - Day2

Tuesday 10th April 2018

Scotland - Day 1

Wednesday 4th April 2018

Catch-up time on nothing much.

Monday 12th March 2018

A trip to Northamptonshire

Tuesday 27th February 2018

What a delightful surprise

Monday 5th February 2018

What a week it wasn't

Sunday 4th February 2018

Week ending 19th January 2018

Monday 22nd January 2018

First outing of 2018

Monday 8th January 2018

A snowy start to the week.

Saturday 16th December 2017

Sucesses and failures in equal measure

Wednesday 13th December 2017

A morning of common birds

Sunday 26th November 2017

Wicken Fen Cambridgeshire

Tuesday 21st November 2017

The past ten days.

Thursday 16th November 2017

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 27th February 2018

It has been three weeks since my last update, what with my partial immobility due to my leg problems. It appears I have either an inflamed tendon or a trapped nerve. Anyway, I think there is some improvement.

So my outings have really been confined to short walks to hides where I could sit in relative comfort. I have wanted to try a new venue - a hide at Barnwell Country Park just over the county border in Northamptonshire. It is a woodland hide so bright sunshine was not the ideal due to the strong shadows but we made the best of it.

Nothing of rarity value but there were repeat visits by several Nuthatches.

Also several Marsh Tits.

and the real bonus, a Treecreeper feeding on the ground in front of the hide, often too close to focus,

but eventually, it did perform on a nearby log.

Before we went home, we had a look round the rest of the park, with a drake Tufted Duck very conveniently in the sunshine. A very common duck so not one that I have taken much notice of for several years so these were probably my best photos of the species.

The next day, we decided to go to the Nene Washes at Eldernell where some Short-eared Owls had been performing. These Owls are diurnal - mainly hunting during the daytime - usually appearing mid afternoon. Three did but kept their distance due to four very noisy photographers that talked incessantly and very loudly. Disappointing so very few photos were keepers. This is one.

On 21st February, with the weather uncertain, I revisited Barnwell Country Park, this time on my own. It was cloudy this time so no problem with shadows. I set up some photogenic logs in front of the hide with some carefully placed food and waited. I had the hide to myself for most of the time so very relaxing.

The usual visitors appeared. Chaffinch

Great Tit

Dunnock

Reed Bunting

Nuthatch

Marsh Tit

These were some of the best photos I have taken of these species so I was well pleased. Then a surprise, three Mandarin Ducks appeared and started to feed.

These were originally a far eastern species naturalised into this country but the male is very colourful. Not so the female.

The male became very inquisitive of my camera clicking away.

Shortly after this, a real bonus - a beautiful male Siskin appeared from no-where to feed for several minutes.

What a morning this was so I limped off home very happy.