Garth Peacock
What a week it wasn't

Archive

Last one for 2018

Tuesday 11th December 2018

A week to remember

Monday 3rd December 2018

A couple of trips to norfolk

Friday 16th November 2018

Deer and more Deer

Thursday 15th November 2018

Some activity at last.

Saturday 3rd November 2018

Welney Widlife Trust Norfolk

Monday 22nd October 2018

It's all still very hard work

Wednesday 17th October 2018

It's not getting any easier

Saturday 6th October 2018

A stormy week

Sunday 23rd September 2018

It's all still very hard work

Sunday 16th September 2018

Bits and bobs over the last 10 days

Sunday 9th September 2018

Another update

Monday 27th August 2018

About time for an update.

Friday 10th August 2018

Bitterns and a Hobby

Tuesday 17th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 5

Wednesday 11th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 4

Thursday 5th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 3

Wednesday 27th June 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 2

Friday 15th June 2018

View Blog Archive >>
Sunday 4th February 2018

The past few days, I have been dogged by a troublesome right leg, painful to walk on, that necesitated a visit to the local Physiotherapist. Keep off the leg as much as possible was one of the recommendations, especially not carrying heavy camera gear. Some hope there!!!!

Anyway, I decided to confine my visits during last week to the local sites where hides were just a short walk from the car. First off was the back end of Wicken Fen on Tuesday 30th January. I was very pleased with the shots I managed there in December and the weather was very similar. Unforunately, the birds were not. A pair of Coots has set up territory in front of the hide and took great exception to any intruders so visits were few and far between. So I shot the Coot (figuratively speaking) and it turnd out to be one of my better ones of this very common species.

A pair of Gadwall braved the war zone, the female appearing to show off in front of the male

and immediatley afterwards, the male reciprocating.

A 'little brown job' made a brief appearance in the reeds next to the hide for a couple of shots but I was then distracted by someone coming into the hide so forgot about it. Going through the photos on my computer, I was rather pleased to see that it was a Cetti's Warbler, not exactly rare but very difficult to photograph because of it's skulking habit.

By lunchtime, I had had enough so returned to the car. A male Pheasant was feeding in the field so I took a few shots. It was only when I got home that I realised that I had not photographed one for some years - too common to bother, I suppose.

On Thursday late morning, I visited Grafham Water to sit in the hide for a spell. Nothing close, no photos so wasted time.

Friday morning, I arranged to meet a friend at The RSPB headquarters in Sandy for a spell in the hide there. He very graciously drove me to the hide from my car and back so I was hoping that the morning would be fruitful. Quick answer - it wasn't, so we were reduced to trying to make something decent from the common stuff.

By lunchtime, we had had enough so called it a day.

Well that is wildlife for you. At present it is very hard work to get anything of note. This week, what with one thing and another, I am giving it a rest. Hope that next week improves.