Garth Peacock
First outing of 2018

Archive

Week ending 19th January 2018

Monday 22nd January 2018

First outing of 2018

Monday 8th January 2018

A snowy start to the week.

Saturday 16th December 2017

Sucesses and failures in equal measure

Wednesday 13th December 2017

A morning of common birds

Sunday 26th November 2017

Wicken Fen Cambridgeshire

Tuesday 21st November 2017

The past ten days.

Thursday 16th November 2017

Birdguides Photo of the Week

Wednesday 8th November 2017

A week in pictures

Friday 3rd November 2017

Nothing exciting

Tuesday 17th October 2017

An update from the last few weeks

Wednesday 4th October 2017

Iceland - Day 8 - Monday 12th June 2017

Thursday 14th September 2017

A quick visit to Norfolk

Saturday 19th August 2017

View Blog Archive >>
Monday 8th January 2018

It has been three weeks since my last blog, due to the Christmas break and a rather nasty dose of the flue that many people have caught. Despite first coming down with it three weeks ago, it is still lingering althouh not really affecting me that much now so the worst is over thankfully.

So, after a long time without use of the camera, and suffering withdrawal symptoms, last Friday I decided to brave 2018, but with an easy trip to the RSPB headquarters at The Lodge Sandy for a quiet morning in the hide. Did not expect too much, but getting out was important for my sanity.

Usual common stuff there that gave me the opportunity of replacing some of my older photos that are no longer up to scratch.

Magpie

Long-tailed Tit

Great Spotted Woodpecker

Stock Dove. I have always found these very difficult to photograph anywhere else as they are so shy but not so here.

A rarish male Brambling made a brief visit

and a Blackbird and Blue Tit bathing.

I was hoping for a Sparrowhawk to visit - it did with a fly by and a landing on the perch for a split second so no time for a shot - disappointing so after three hours I had had enough and returned home.