Garth Peacock
A morning of common birds

Archive

Week ending 19th January 2018

Monday 22nd January 2018

First outing of 2018

Monday 8th January 2018

A snowy start to the week.

Saturday 16th December 2017

Sucesses and failures in equal measure

Wednesday 13th December 2017

A morning of common birds

Sunday 26th November 2017

Wicken Fen Cambridgeshire

Tuesday 21st November 2017

The past ten days.

Thursday 16th November 2017

Birdguides Photo of the Week

Wednesday 8th November 2017

A week in pictures

Friday 3rd November 2017

Nothing exciting

Tuesday 17th October 2017

An update from the last few weeks

Wednesday 4th October 2017

Iceland - Day 8 - Monday 12th June 2017

Thursday 14th September 2017

A quick visit to Norfolk

Saturday 19th August 2017

View Blog Archive >>
Sunday 26th November 2017

Last week was a strange week. I was busy on sunny days and nothing to do when the weather was not conducive for photography, except for Friday - sunny and calm - but with nothing out of area to make a trip worthwhile, I decided to revisit Wicken Fen to see if I could improve my stock of photos of common wildfowl.

Sometimes, we overlook the enjoyment of trying for better of shots of everyday subjects.

The previous Friday, Charlies Hide produced some encouraging results so I returned there for another session, hoping to fill in some gaps from last week.

Although very slow this time, a drake Gadwall eventually made an appearance

a drake Shoveler also paddled into the frame.

Even Mallard were worth a shot - much underrated because of there commonality - but looking very striking in the sunlight.

Finally, a drake Teal posed.

with nothin else of note, after lunc, I moved acreoos the lode to Burwell Fen to see if any Owls were in evidence - unfortunately no - but a male Kestrel was a substitute.

Nothing really exciting, but an enjoyable day never-the-less.

A few more imaged in the Recent Additions section