Garth Peacock
Wicken Fen Cambridgeshire

Archive

Last one for 2018

Tuesday 11th December 2018

A week to remember

Monday 3rd December 2018

A couple of trips to norfolk

Friday 16th November 2018

Deer and more Deer

Thursday 15th November 2018

Some activity at last.

Saturday 3rd November 2018

Welney Widlife Trust Norfolk

Monday 22nd October 2018

It's all still very hard work

Wednesday 17th October 2018

It's not getting any easier

Saturday 6th October 2018

A stormy week

Sunday 23rd September 2018

It's all still very hard work

Sunday 16th September 2018

Bits and bobs over the last 10 days

Sunday 9th September 2018

Another update

Monday 27th August 2018

About time for an update.

Friday 10th August 2018

Bitterns and a Hobby

Tuesday 17th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 5

Wednesday 11th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 4

Thursday 5th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 3

Wednesday 27th June 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 2

Friday 15th June 2018

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 21st November 2017

Life is full of surprises.

Last Friday, the weather was great for photography - calm and still, cold with wall to wall sunshine for most of the morning at least. But where to go.

I spoke with a friend and neither of us could get excited about anything out of area so we decided to meet in Charlies Hide at Wicken Fen, overlooking Bakers Fen. Not a location that has produced much for me before but, there again, I haven't been there recently either.

Quiet to begin with except for some distant wildfowl and screeching Water Rail in the reeds close by. Then a Water Rail made a rapid crossing in front of the hide, too quickly for either of us but a second one followed shortly after and rather more slowly. Never-the-less, the quality of the resulting photos was regretfully poor - operator error!!!

After that, the wildfowl decided to feed in front of the hide with a very attractive backdrop of reflected reeds that glowed in the sunlight. First Gadwall made their way in

then Teal

Then a Kingfisher made a fleeting visit.

A Redshank decided to fly in and land on the water like a duck.

A female Teal flew in

with Wigeon being the last to arrive.

with a drake leaving shortly afterwards.

Finally a Wren appeared in the reeds close to the hide.

Later, another visitor to the hide told us that there were two Bar-headed Geese and a Ross's Goose with a flock of Greylag Geese elsewhere on the reserve so after lunch we found them although distant and feeding among some rushes making it difficult to get any photo of note. Finally a brief appearance that I am only including in this blog as I have never photographed a Bar-headed Goose before.

They are a central asian species known for migrating southwards over the Himalayan mountains. How they got here is a mystery but escapees from a wildfowl collection is the most likely tale.

After that, we went to Burwell Fen but no Owls of any variety were evident. Still, a productive morning - I shall visit again when we get some sunshine.

More images in the Recent Additions section of this website.