Garth Peacock
Birdguides Photo of the Week

Archive

Week ending 19th January 2018

Monday 22nd January 2018

First outing of 2018

Monday 8th January 2018

A snowy start to the week.

Saturday 16th December 2017

Sucesses and failures in equal measure

Wednesday 13th December 2017

A morning of common birds

Sunday 26th November 2017

Wicken Fen Cambridgeshire

Tuesday 21st November 2017

The past ten days.

Thursday 16th November 2017

Birdguides Photo of the Week

Wednesday 8th November 2017

A week in pictures

Friday 3rd November 2017

Nothing exciting

Tuesday 17th October 2017

An update from the last few weeks

Wednesday 4th October 2017

Iceland - Day 8 - Monday 12th June 2017

Thursday 14th September 2017

A quick visit to Norfolk

Saturday 19th August 2017

View Blog Archive >>
Wednesday 8th November 2017

Birdguides is one of the main national bird news organisations in the UK. As well as bird news, they have a facility to upload bird photos for members to see. Just lately, I have submitted few photos but decided to upload this image, due to it's rarity value.

This is leucistic, not albino and I had never seen one, or heard of one for that matter so it was very unusual. It was taken at Lakenheath Fen RSPB Suffolk.

It received a few nice comments but I was totally surprised to find that it had been picked out as Photo of the Week from several hundred other submissions. An excellent start to the day.

It makes up for all the days of turning out with very little to show for the effort.