Garth Peacock
Stonechats

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Friday 4th January 2013

Well, it has been a while since my last outing. A touch of withdrawal symptoms gave me the incentive to visit my local RSPB reserve at Fen Drayton Lakes yesterday. I was not expecting much as it is still school holidays and the area is popular for cyclists and family outings during the holiday break, and it has suffered from flooding during the past couple of weeks or so with much of the reserve inaccessible.

Approaching on the access road, I looked for the Stonechats that had been reported but no sign, with nothing within photographable range anywhere else either - looked to be an abortive trip until retracing my steps on the approach road, I saw a Stonechat drop down into a dyke by the roadside. I turned the car round so that I was sitting on the right side and waited. The field has been left uncut for seed eaters.

A pair then showed further along the dyke going away from me feeding by the field side. At the bottom of the field they then continued along that side and up the other side so I decided to wait. Sure enough they got closer with the male allowing some semi-distant shots.

Surprisingly, they carried on feeding eventually by the roadside allowing even closer shots - this was getting interesting.

Well, if only they would perch on that branch with a clear background and about 10 metres away, I thought to myself. No sooner wished for than the female did just that.

and shortly followed by the male.

A most enjoyable and unexpected encounter and an excellent start to 2013.

More images in the Recent Additions section of this website