Garth Peacock
Iceland - Day 11 - Thursday 15th June 2017

Archive

The past ten days.

Thursday 16th November 2017

Birdguides Photo of the Week

Wednesday 8th November 2017

A week in pictures

Friday 3rd November 2017

Nothing exciting

Tuesday 17th October 2017

An update from the last few weeks

Wednesday 4th October 2017

Iceland - Day 8 - Monday 12th June 2017

Thursday 14th September 2017

A quick visit to Norfolk

Saturday 19th August 2017

Back to Norfolk

Friday 14th July 2017

A break from Paperwork

Saturday 8th July 2017

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 26th September 2017

This was the final day for photography as we were due to leave mid-morning for the long drive back to Reykjavik. Weather dull and raining. I opted to re-visit the hides on the private lake to try to get some flight shots of the wildfowl - a mistake as the weather did not improve.

I managed a few high ISO shots of a Long-tailed Duck.

A Scaup in wing-flap

and the surpise of the morning, a small family of Wigeon, the ducklings probably only recently off the nest as they had not been seen before.

We left in time for breakfast and packing.

Overall views of the tour? Excellent in many ways. Danny Green and Paul Hobson were excellent leaders, giving advice and suggestions to get better images. Personally, I would have preferred more locations to widen the scope of species available but the unpredictability of the weather was the governing factor so we had ample opportunities of good photos at all locations.

Disappointments - no close-ups of Great Northern Diver or Ptarmigan that I was hoping for but that is wildlife photography. I am particularly pleased with the images of Harlequin Duck and Barrow's Goldeneye, neither of which are available in the UK.

Would I  go on another trip to Iceland? Probably not on an organised tour. The best way is to hire a motorhome and 'do your own thing' but there again, I am almost certainly too long in the tooth to do that these days.

It was tiring due to the long hours in the field and Iceland is very expensive so be warned. However, I am really pleased that I went and also rather pleased that I have now completed the editing of the thousands of photos so can get on with others.