Garth Peacock
Iceland - Day 10 - Wednesday 14th June 2017

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Monday 25th September 2017

Sunshine at last for our penultimate day in Iceland so we decided to return to the pond off Lake Myvatn to get better shots of the Slavonian Grebe. The summer plumage definitely requires sunshine to bring out the colours.

Another early start to see the sunrise and with it billions of flies, not just small midges but house fly sized and they covered everything. At one stage my camera and lens were completely covered but I was prepared and had a head net to keep them off my face. Thankfully, they were not biting flies but still a nuisance. Well, Lake Myvatn is Icelandic for Lake of flies and it is the flies that attract the birds so there is the benefit.

panerai replica watches

First to appear was the Red-necked Phalarope - catching flies.

and then the real target bird appeared, the Slavonian Grebe

came very close, having got used to us before

and even showed it's boredom with being photographed

The Red-necked Phalarope totally ignored us

and carried on feeding.

We were then treated to real closeups of a pair of Scaup that unexpectedly flew in, first the female

followed by a far more cautious male

We almost missed breakfast but this was an excellent session.

Later on we returned to the River Laxa with Redwing around the car park.

and on the path up the side of the river, a Redwing chick.

Harlequin Ducks still performing nicely

so back to base for dinner and returning to the River Laxa for the evening session

On the way, the usual Reshank was performing on a roadside post, as if I hadn't enough already but I can never resist a decent shot

and a Snipe being particularly photogenic

Back at the river, I left the rest of the party and walked further up the river bank and found a quiet part of the river with Barrow's Goldeneye in one corner. This was one of my target species as Iceland is the only place in Europe where they can be found. Creeping up on hands and knees, I found a spot overlooking the area and managed some shots of the unsuspecting group

and they even came closer for individual shots of the male

and the female

Returning to the main river, I even managed a shot of the Harlequin Duck perched on an island in the middle of the river race, one of the sought-after shots but the high river level meant that there were few islands so opportunities were scarce.

Anyway, an excellent day overall.