Garth Peacock
Iceland - Day 9 - Tuesday 13th June 2017

Archive

Bitterns and a Hobby

Tuesday 17th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 5

Wednesday 11th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 4

Thursday 5th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 3

Wednesday 27th June 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 2

Friday 15th June 2018

The first afternoon

Tuesday 5th June 2018

A long journey to......

Sunday 3rd June 2018

Week ending 11th May 2018

Thursday 17th May 2018

Local trips.

Tuesday 24th April 2018

Scotland - the last three days

Wednesday 18th April 2018

Scotland day 6

Tuesday 17th April 2018

Scotland - Day 5 - A mammal day

Friday 13th April 2018

Scotland - Days 3 & 4

Thursday 12th April 2018

Scotland - Day2

Tuesday 10th April 2018

Scotland - Day 1

Wednesday 4th April 2018

Catch-up time on nothing much.

Monday 12th March 2018

A trip to Northamptonshire

Tuesday 27th February 2018

View Blog Archive >>
Monday 18th September 2017

Another day in the area around Lake Myvatn. This time we were in specially constructed hides on the bank of a private lake, starting the day at 06.00 again. Weather cloudy and some rain, far from ideal for photographing birds in water but, once agin, we made the best of it.

Plenty of wildfowl, in particular Scaup that spent some time near the reeds on the opposite bank so a better background than grey water.

Mainly drake Long-tailed Ducks but they were in the middle of the lake so a plain backdrop.

Late morning, we went back to Dettifoss to try to find Ptarmigan that should have been common but none in evidence at all. Close views of Whimbrel.

very common in Iceland and usually quite nervous but this one was very tolerant.

And then a diversion where we eventually found one Ptarmigan perched on a rather distant outcrop of lava.

Whoopee - my first Ptarmigan after spending a whole afternoon on Cairngorm in Scotland with a guide a couple of years ago and still not seeing one. A result for me

Finally, back to the River Laxa for the evening but nothing really to show for it as the cloudy weather made any photos quite uninteresting except for a Red-throated Diver that popped up in front of me in the rapid part of the river - quite unusual.

Sun forecast for tomorrow!!!!!