Garth Peacock
Iceland - Day 9 - Tuesday 13th June 2017

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Monday 18th September 2017

Another day in the area around Lake Myvatn. This time we were in specially constructed hides on the bank of a private lake, starting the day at 06.00 again. Weather cloudy and some rain, far from ideal for photographing birds in water but, once agin, we made the best of it.

Plenty of wildfowl, in particular Scaup that spent some time near the reeds on the opposite bank so a better background than grey water.

Mainly drake Long-tailed Ducks but they were in the middle of the lake so a plain backdrop.

Late morning, we went back to Dettifoss to try to find Ptarmigan that should have been common but none in evidence at all. Close views of Whimbrel.

very common in Iceland and usually quite nervous but this one was very tolerant.

And then a diversion where we eventually found one Ptarmigan perched on a rather distant outcrop of lava.

Whoopee - my first Ptarmigan after spending a whole afternoon on Cairngorm in Scotland with a guide a couple of years ago and still not seeing one. A result for me

Finally, back to the River Laxa for the evening but nothing really to show for it as the cloudy weather made any photos quite uninteresting except for a Red-throated Diver that popped up in front of me in the rapid part of the river - quite unusual.

Sun forecast for tomorrow!!!!!