Garth Peacock
A quick visit to Norfolk

Archive

Bitterns and a Hobby

Tuesday 17th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 5

Wednesday 11th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 4

Thursday 5th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 3

Wednesday 27th June 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 2

Friday 15th June 2018

The first afternoon

Tuesday 5th June 2018

A long journey to......

Sunday 3rd June 2018

Week ending 11th May 2018

Thursday 17th May 2018

Local trips.

Tuesday 24th April 2018

Scotland - the last three days

Wednesday 18th April 2018

Scotland day 6

Tuesday 17th April 2018

Scotland - Day 5 - A mammal day

Friday 13th April 2018

Scotland - Days 3 & 4

Thursday 12th April 2018

Scotland - Day2

Tuesday 10th April 2018

Scotland - Day 1

Wednesday 4th April 2018

Catch-up time on nothing much.

Monday 12th March 2018

A trip to Northamptonshire

Tuesday 27th February 2018

View Blog Archive >>
Saturday 19th August 2017

Not much wildlife photography recently. A family holiday with the grandchildren in Tenerife last week was a very pleasant interruption to my activities but last Wednesday, I just had to get out after a couple of days catching up with the effects of sun and rain on the y noe, overgrown garden.

So off to the closest place for a quick visit - north Norfolk and Titchwell in particular. Of course, Norfolk in the middle of the school summer holidays is not the quietest place on the planet but I left late, arriving early afternoon, aiming for a visit to the beach and then late afternoon and evening in the hides.

Not much from the first hide on the way through - a couple of feeding Shelduck worth a shot and 13 Spoonbills doing what they do best - sleeping!!!

Not much on the beach either, just after high tide, until I noticed some Sandwich Terns feeding off shore - rather distant but I had few shots of this species anyway.

It was great fun trying to follow them diving into the sea, failing miserably because the distance meant that the auto-focus kept picking up the background waves but eventually, I caught one just emerging from the dive.

Back to the freshmarsh where something disturbed the Spoonbills.

Unfortunately, they flew away from the hide and did not return. One of these days, I may get a decent close-up of one.

Just in front of the hide, it was calm and with a blue sky so quite photogenic although only common birds around.

Anyway, an enjoyable time if not too much to get excited about.