Garth Peacock
It's the start of the wader season

Archive

Week ending 19th January 2018

Monday 22nd January 2018

First outing of 2018

Monday 8th January 2018

A snowy start to the week.

Saturday 16th December 2017

Sucesses and failures in equal measure

Wednesday 13th December 2017

A morning of common birds

Sunday 26th November 2017

Wicken Fen Cambridgeshire

Tuesday 21st November 2017

The past ten days.

Thursday 16th November 2017

Birdguides Photo of the Week

Wednesday 8th November 2017

A week in pictures

Friday 3rd November 2017

Nothing exciting

Tuesday 17th October 2017

An update from the last few weeks

Wednesday 4th October 2017

Iceland - Day 8 - Monday 12th June 2017

Thursday 14th September 2017

A quick visit to Norfolk

Saturday 19th August 2017

View Blog Archive >>
Friday 28th July 2017

Last Monday, I had a call from a friend to see if I would like to go to Frampton Marsh RSPB in Lincolnshire as some migrant waders has arrived, namely Red-necked Phalarope and Pectoral Sandpiper.

About this time of the year, the waders that migrated to the north for breeding are beginning to return on their southerly migration and with the common species, there are often rarities that loose their way and migrate down via Europe rather than the Americas. Pectoral Sandpiper is one american species that is quite regular. Red-necked Phalarope is another rarity but I have hundreds of shots of those taken in Iceland and not yet processed so that was not an attraction for me.

free football betting tips free football betting tips at oddslot professional soccer betting picks uk

The Pectoral Sandpiper was of interest but I was more keen on going for another one that was showing rather well at Titchwell on the Norfolk coast so off we went. Weather cloudy and dull.

Arriving we headed into the reserve, looked closely at a small flock of Dunlin but the target bird was not there but after a while, we found it, feeding near the path. This meant taking photos from the raised path so looking down on the bird - not ideal - so care was needed to achieve decent shots.

The bird helped a little by going out into the clear water for a bathe and a preen but it was still dull and cloudy.

After that we went to the beach but found nothing really photographable, returned via Parrinder hide where we found a moulting Curlew Sandpiper, recently arrived.

Another try at the Pectoral Sandpiper on the way back that produced nothing extra of note and that was the end of the days photography.