Garth Peacock
Iceland - Day 1 - Monday 5th June 2017

Archive

Local trips.

Tuesday 24th April 2018

Scotland - the last three days

Wednesday 18th April 2018

Scotland day 6

Tuesday 17th April 2018

Scotland - Day 5 - A mammal day

Friday 13th April 2018

Scotland - Days 3 & 4

Thursday 12th April 2018

Scotland - Day2

Tuesday 10th April 2018

Scotland - Day 1

Wednesday 4th April 2018

Catch-up time on nothing much.

Monday 12th March 2018

A trip to Northamptonshire

Tuesday 27th February 2018

What a delightful surprise

Monday 5th February 2018

What a week it wasn't

Sunday 4th February 2018

Week ending 19th January 2018

Monday 22nd January 2018

First outing of 2018

Monday 8th January 2018

A snowy start to the week.

Saturday 16th December 2017

Sucesses and failures in equal measure

Wednesday 13th December 2017

A morning of common birds

Sunday 26th November 2017

Wicken Fen Cambridgeshire

Tuesday 21st November 2017

The past ten days.

Thursday 16th November 2017

Birdguides Photo of the Week

Wednesday 8th November 2017

A week in pictures

Friday 3rd November 2017

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 20th June 2017

Last Friday, 16th June, I returned from a 12 day photographic trip to Iceland, a country I have never visited before. This was a trip organised by Natures Images.

Monday 5th June and I was on my way to Heathrow to catch a lunchtime IcelandAir flight to Reykjavik, arriving mid-afternoon local time (1 hour behind us). There were 8 tour participants with two leaders, Danny Green and Paul Hobson, split between two minibuses.

Our first journey was to Selfoss, about a couple of hours drive, book into the hotel, a quick dinner at a nearby burger bar and then out to the main objective of this part of our trip, Floi Nature Reserve.This is a large coastal wetland reserve and all we expected on the first evening was a recce to see what it was like.

There is a long access road through farmland, mostly grazing land and the surrounding posts and hillocks provided the first photographic opportunities from the minibus. Redshank very common

and Snipe not as common but still available.

Entering the reserve itself, a walk through, at times, ankle deep water led to various pools but the cloudy conditions were not really helpful for photos on water. However, almost every pool had its resident Red-throated Diver sitting on eggs.

I decided that much better photo opportunities would come as we had two full days here but this was a decent start. This proved to be the correct decision as I took over 2000 images before we moved on. They will take some time to process!!!