Garth Peacock
May Summarised

Archive

A couple of trips to norfolk

Friday 16th November 2018

Deer and more Deer

Thursday 15th November 2018

Some activity at last.

Saturday 3rd November 2018

Welney Widlife Trust Norfolk

Monday 22nd October 2018

It's all still very hard work

Wednesday 17th October 2018

It's not getting any easier

Saturday 6th October 2018

A stormy week

Sunday 23rd September 2018

It's all still very hard work

Sunday 16th September 2018

Bits and bobs over the last 10 days

Sunday 9th September 2018

Another update

Monday 27th August 2018

About time for an update.

Friday 10th August 2018

Bitterns and a Hobby

Tuesday 17th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 5

Wednesday 11th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 4

Thursday 5th July 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 3

Wednesday 27th June 2018

The Danube Delta - Day 2

Friday 15th June 2018

The first afternoon

Tuesday 5th June 2018

View Blog Archive >>
Wednesday 31st May 2017

This is my second attempt at writing this blog. My last one appears to have been hacked into rubbish and a few entries added to the photo section that were also rubbish. All now deleted but it makes one think what mind set these people have. Can't have much of a brain beyond computing if hacking into an innoccuous wildlife website gives them pleasure!!!

Anyway, rant over so here goes with the second write up.

At the beginning of the month, a friend and I went to Woodwalton Fen in Cambridgeshire as Bitterns had been reported as 'showing well'. We arrived at the first hide with nothing of interest although a drake Garganey flew in with a flock of Teal but too distant for effective photography. After chatting to a couple that arrived later, and with nothing of interest, we moved to the second hide where we were treated to a couple of Hobby's hawking over the mere. Light nothing special so only so-so images.

After lunch, we moved back to the first hide. Shortly after arriving, a pair of Common Terns flew in and occupied the tern raft. Their behaviour indicated that they has just arrived on migration, especially when a mating attempt was made, although unsuccessful.

The north hide produced the usual Marsh Harriers, although distant and with deteriorating light, we called an end to the day.

Getting home, I received an e-mail from the couple we saw in the first hide. Just after we had left, a Bittern flew across the mere, landing in front of the hide, and proceeding to feed for a while. An excellent photo opportunity missed as his own photos proved. B***** it!!!

In the middle of the month, my wife and I enjoyed a 10 day holiday in Cyprus, an island that we know well. Not a birding holiday so I took my 7DMK2 attached to the 100-400 lens (just in case) and the 24-105 for landscapes. I have no ability with landscapes - just cannot see the potential for a decent shots but I wanted to practice in readiness for my forthcoming photo trip to Iceland. Few birds around anyway except for Crested Lark that were very common, especially at our favourite walking place, Cape Drepano.

After returning, I managed an afternoon at nearby Haddenham where, eventually, the Corn Buntings showed well.

One even landed in front of my camera requiring a quick removal of the teleconverter to get it in the frame.

Not a particularly eventful month but the forthcomimg trip to Iceland should be more fruitful.