Garth Peacock
Objective for the day - two dificult species

Archive

Week ending 19th January 2018

Monday 22nd January 2018

First outing of 2018

Monday 8th January 2018

A snowy start to the week.

Saturday 16th December 2017

Sucesses and failures in equal measure

Wednesday 13th December 2017

A morning of common birds

Sunday 26th November 2017

Wicken Fen Cambridgeshire

Tuesday 21st November 2017

The past ten days.

Thursday 16th November 2017

Birdguides Photo of the Week

Wednesday 8th November 2017

A week in pictures

Friday 3rd November 2017

Nothing exciting

Tuesday 17th October 2017

An update from the last few weeks

Wednesday 4th October 2017

Iceland - Day 8 - Monday 12th June 2017

Thursday 14th September 2017

A quick visit to Norfolk

Saturday 19th August 2017

View Blog Archive >>
Sunday 5th March 2017

Last Thursday, a friend and I decided to visit the Brecks in Norfolk with the objective of finding and photographing Lesser Spotted Woodpecker and Goshawk - quite a challenge but this was the time of the year when they are at their least difficult.

An early morning start for Santon Downham in Norfolk for the Lesser Spotted Woodpecker with a 20/25 minute walk along the bank of the river Little Ouse and we were at a known area for them - and the weather turned very dark and started to rain - not a great start. A couple of hours later, we had seen just one for a couple of rolex replica watches minutes or so in the tree tops with the resulting photographs so good I have decided not to publish them. Well who wants to see a small black outline at the top of a tall tree with a background of heavy black sky?

We then moved on to Cockley Cley to see if we had any better success with Goshawk - and the sun came out for a really glorious afternoon. About 400/500 yards away there was a tree line and raptors were circling, mainly Buzzards with a Goshawk making an occasional appearance but so distant that they were no larger that a camera focus point.

A Buzzard came closer

and eventually a Goshawk came closer - in reality beyond the limits of of a DLSR and lens but what the hell, it was a Goshawk and any photographs worth taking would be better that any others I have (this was my first ever sighting of the species).

We were told of a spot where we could get closer, went there, but by then the display had stopped.

Still, a new species for the website, even though the images are only just passable - well it is possible rolex watches to identify Goshawk from them - just!!!