Garth Peacock
The UK's most easterly point

Archive

Week ending 11th May 2018

Thursday 17th May 2018

Local trips.

Tuesday 24th April 2018

Scotland - the last three days

Wednesday 18th April 2018

Scotland day 6

Tuesday 17th April 2018

Scotland - Day 5 - A mammal day

Friday 13th April 2018

Scotland - Days 3 & 4

Thursday 12th April 2018

Scotland - Day2

Tuesday 10th April 2018

Scotland - Day 1

Wednesday 4th April 2018

Catch-up time on nothing much.

Monday 12th March 2018

A trip to Northamptonshire

Tuesday 27th February 2018

What a delightful surprise

Monday 5th February 2018

What a week it wasn't

Sunday 4th February 2018

Week ending 19th January 2018

Monday 22nd January 2018

First outing of 2018

Monday 8th January 2018

A snowy start to the week.

Saturday 16th December 2017

Sucesses and failures in equal measure

Wednesday 13th December 2017

A morning of common birds

Sunday 26th November 2017

Wicken Fen Cambridgeshire

Tuesday 21st November 2017

The past ten days.

Thursday 16th November 2017

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 28th February 2017

A friend had asked if I knew where he could photograph Purple Sandpipers - Ness Point Lowestoft, I said, so last Friday saw us heading there. I was not unduly bothered about it as I had already taken some decent shots of the species but life is full of surprises and this day was to prove it.

Arriving at Ness Point in heavyish cloud, we looked around and saw two or three on the rocks near the promenade. I picked out one on top of a rock, pointed it out to my friend and held back for him to get close for a decent shot. He surprised me by walking straight past it, flushing it and missing the opportunity. They then all flew with no shots taken.

However, at the end of the promenade I spotted a Shag, posing perfectly. Taking great Breitling Replica Watches care, I got into a close position and took my first shot.

With the sun suddenly appearing, I carefully moved position and shot again.

The bird was fully aware of my presence but was not at all fazed by me so I continued to shoot with more confidence, moving position to suit and getting what I think is my shot of the day.

and even getting full frame close ups.

What an amazing confiding bird.

It was now approaching mid-day and the Purple Sandpipers had not reappeared so we moved to a car park on the north of the town to see if any interesting gulls were around - no such luck - had lunch and retuned to Ness Point. A flock of ten or so Purple Sandpipers were right on the point so some distant shots were possible.

A small flock of Turnstones flew in to feed much closer.

and this seemed to encourage the Purple Sandpipers to gradually move closer for some colourful shots on the seaweed.

After really filling our boots, we decided to move up the coast to Great Yarmouth to see if there were any omega speedmaster replica Meditearranean Gulls on the beach. We soon found a few, mixed in with some Black-headed Gulls but by then the light was deteriorating rapidly so we only managed a few shots before they were all flushed leaving an empty beach.

Anyway, despite only four species during the day, I was very pleased with the results.

More images in the Recent Additions section.