Garth Peacock
Last week in not-so-many pictures.

Archive

The UK's most easterly point

Tuesday 28th February 2017

Fortunes improved - finally

Tuesday 21st February 2017

Last week in not-so-many pictures.

Monday 30th January 2017

My first day out in 2017

Thursday 26th January 2017

Locally based for a couple of weeks

Friday 23rd December 2016

Last weeks events

Tuesday 22nd November 2016

Testing the new camera

Tuesday 15th November 2016

The good and the not so good

Tuesday 8th November 2016

A couple of weeks to update

Monday 10th October 2016

Was the Pectoral Sandpiper still there?

Saturday 24th September 2016

Littlle Stints on the agenda

Sunday 11th September 2016

Hungary Days 7 and 8

Tuesday 23rd August 2016

Hungary Day 5

Friday 19th August 2016

Hungary Day 4

Friday 5th August 2016

View Blog Archive >>
Monday 30th January 2017

Strange week it was. Ventured out just twice.

The first was to spend an afternoon at Cambridge Research park, Waterbeach, Cambs where a juvenile Glaucous Gull had been regularly seen, and an occasional Iceland Gull, amongst many other more common gulls. Arriving in good sunlight, the lake was mostly frozen with just four or five Black-headed Gulls present and one Breitling Replica Watches Lesser Black-backed Gull.

Eventually, a juvenile Herring gull flew in

and that was it. Not much to show for a couple of hours.

With light cloud forecast for Friday, I decided to visit The RSPB headquarters at The Lodge, Sandy, Bedforshire. I do not like photos on grey days involving water and there is a hide at The Lodge with foliage background that should make more interesting photos. Also, there were reports of Redpoll, Siskins and Bramblimgs visiting the feeders there.

Reports entirely erroneous. The only visitors were the usual common garden birds although a pale coloured Chaffinch was around. Someone thought it was leucistic but I think it is just pale plumage.

With no interesting visitors after a time, I started to take some photos to try to improve the quality of my portfolio as a case of boredome had set in.

A flock of Long-tailed Tits provided some entertainment

Regular visits from a Red-legged Partridge feeding on spilled seed under the feeders was the only real interest.

Three hours in the freezing weather was enough for one day. Hope next week improves.