Garth Peacock
A couple of variable weeks - failures and successes.

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Thursday 1st December 2016

Last week, on Tuesday 22nd November, I spent a few hours in nearby Bassingbourn. I had been made aware of a Dipper that was roosting on private land and was invited to see it. It came in at dusk and sat singing in a shady overhang about 100 metres away - not a recipe for a decent image.

A Dipper in Cambridgeshire is a county rarity. there is just not the habitat of fast flowing water here but this bird has been resident for a few weeks.

At the time, it was not known where it was feeding but some detective work by Rolex Day-Date replica local birders found it - a place called Wellhead Springs - so that is where I spent my time. Nothing doing - not seen or heard - so I went home in the oncoming gloom defeated.

On Friday, at the suggestion of a friend, we went to Needham Market in Suffolk with the object of photographing another Dipper - a Black-bellied Dipper which is a European race dipper. Surely I could not be one of the few people to dip two Dippers in a week. I am!!!

The only bird of note was a Grey Wagtail that showed up just as we were packing up - ISO 4000.

Not a good week but at least a couple of shots just worth keeping, courtesy of the 5DMK4.

I started off this week at Grafham Water on Monday 28th November. A Great Northern Diver had been showing over the weekend near the dam but as I walked up the dam, a birder was walking back saying he had not seen it. Thankfully, I carried on and the bird appeared in the shady side of the tower and proceeded to dive, but getting further away each time.

Eventually, I was able to get surprisingly close and reeled off a load of images. Here are three examples.

Well pleased, I decamped to the hide off Mander car park, hoping for some more shots of the Bewick's Swans but they had moved into the next creek so I amused myself with a pair of close-in Goldeneye.

The following day,best replica watches I spent the afternoon at Burwell Fen which was literally crawling with birders/photographers. The Short-eared Owls kept well away until near dusk although I noticed a dust up between a Kestrel and a Shortie - rather distant necessitating a heavy crop.

At dusk, a Roe Deer showed quite close making an unusual image.

and a Short-eared-Owl eventually showed up closer, just as the sun was setting.

More images in the Recent Additions section.