Garth Peacock
A couple of variable weeks - failures and successes.

Archive

Local trips.

Tuesday 24th April 2018

Scotland - the last three days

Wednesday 18th April 2018

Scotland day 6

Tuesday 17th April 2018

Scotland - Day 5 - A mammal day

Friday 13th April 2018

Scotland - Days 3 & 4

Thursday 12th April 2018

Scotland - Day2

Tuesday 10th April 2018

Scotland - Day 1

Wednesday 4th April 2018

Catch-up time on nothing much.

Monday 12th March 2018

A trip to Northamptonshire

Tuesday 27th February 2018

What a delightful surprise

Monday 5th February 2018

What a week it wasn't

Sunday 4th February 2018

Week ending 19th January 2018

Monday 22nd January 2018

First outing of 2018

Monday 8th January 2018

A snowy start to the week.

Saturday 16th December 2017

Sucesses and failures in equal measure

Wednesday 13th December 2017

A morning of common birds

Sunday 26th November 2017

Wicken Fen Cambridgeshire

Tuesday 21st November 2017

The past ten days.

Thursday 16th November 2017

Birdguides Photo of the Week

Wednesday 8th November 2017

A week in pictures

Friday 3rd November 2017

View Blog Archive >>
Thursday 1st December 2016

Last week, on Tuesday 22nd November, I spent a few hours in nearby Bassingbourn. I had been made aware of a Dipper that was roosting on private land and was invited to see it. It came in at dusk and sat singing in a shady overhang about 100 metres away - not a recipe for a decent image.

A Dipper in Cambridgeshire is a county rarity. there is just not the habitat of fast flowing water here but this bird has been resident for a few weeks.

At the time, it was not known where it was feeding but some detective work by Rolex Day-Date replica local birders found it - a place called Wellhead Springs - so that is where I spent my time. Nothing doing - not seen or heard - so I went home in the oncoming gloom defeated.

On Friday, at the suggestion of a friend, we went to Needham Market in Suffolk with the object of photographing another Dipper - a Black-bellied Dipper which is a European race dipper. Surely I could not be one of the few people to dip two Dippers in a week. I am!!!

The only bird of note was a Grey Wagtail that showed up just as we were packing up - ISO 4000.

Not a good week but at least a couple of shots just worth keeping, courtesy of the 5DMK4.

I started off this week at Grafham Water on Monday 28th November. A Great Northern Diver had been showing over the weekend near the dam but as I walked up the dam, a birder was walking back saying he had not seen it. Thankfully, I carried on and the bird appeared in the shady side of the tower and proceeded to dive, but getting further away each time.

Eventually, I was able to get surprisingly close and reeled off a load of images. Here are three examples.

Well pleased, I decamped to the hide off Mander car park, hoping for some more shots of the Bewick's Swans but they had moved into the next creek so I amused myself with a pair of close-in Goldeneye.

The following day, I spent the afternoon at Burwell Fen which was literally crawling with birders/photographers. The Short-eared Owls kept well away until near dusk although I noticed a dust up between a Kestrel and a Shortie - rather distant necessitating a heavy crop.

At dusk, a Roe Deer showed quite close making an unusual image.

and a Short-eared-Owl eventually showed up closer, just as the sun was setting.

More images in the Recent Additions section.