Garth Peacock
Littlle Stints on the agenda

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Sunday 11th September 2016

Last Thursday - weather good - kids back to school - taIlor made for another trip to Norfolk but with the specific objective of photographing Little Stints that have been reported for the past few days at Titchwell RSPB.

Arriving at my usual first stop, Thornham, the only birds on show was a small mixed flock of Bar-tailed and Black-tailed Godwits. Approaching carefully, they were spooked and flew to land closer to me in a much better site. Lining up, they were then spooked again by a dog-walker on the sea wall. One shot only - of a Black-tailed Godwit taking off. Got loads of photos of them - one more? - well, what the hell!!!

I then followed my usual morning route to Brancaster Staithe - omega replica watches crawling with the boating set - and then Burnham Overy Staithe. Same story - not a bird in site. So, rather reluctantly, I headed to Titchwell RSPB earlier than intended - and joined the queue to park. Never experienced that before but was directed into a previously private space 'because you are a member sir'!! Well, that was a turn-up for the book.

Where do all these people come from. I think my wife had the answer. 'They are all like you - waiting for the school holidays to end'.

Anyway, out onto the reserve. Water levels really too low for Island Hide again but was pleased to meet up with a couple of acquaintances so was able to pass the time. The Little Stints were there but distant. I was informed that they often come to feed on a patch of mud in front of the hide - but not this time. They were feeding relatively close to the path so, eventually, I decided to move there despite the fact that I would be looking down on them - not ideal.

Acceptable images - just.

I then moved onto the beach with an ebb tide and the mussel beds just beginning to show - an attraction for feeding birds. replica rolex  A Great Black-backed Gull was paddling in the sea like a Petrel -  - don't know why - never seen that behaviour before.

I passed the time with some flight shots of Oystercatchers.

A Curlew allowed a close approach

and then the surprise - a group of Bar-tailed Godwits - normally very flighty also allowed a close approach

one taking off just at the right time

and then, for me, the shot of the day when another took to the air in front of me

Finally, moving back on to the reserve, a quick trip to Parrinder Hide where the only bird of interest to me was the sudden appearance of a Snipe - not close but OKish

By now the light was beginning to fade so off home - a worthwhile trip after all.