Garth Peacock
Hungary Days 7 and 8

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Tuesday 23rd August 2016

After a day in bed, I got up Friday morning (24th June), still not quite myself, to a very hot day - 35 degrees Celsius. I did not feel ready for a full day in the hides so, after a light breakfast, decided to see if I could get some photos from the lodge decking overlooking the marsh. Strong sunlight not ideal, especially since I was facing into it.

Result - nothing worth keeping but at least I felt rather better but had had enough of the heat after an hour or so.

The afternoon was planned for the Red-footed Falcon hide again - uncomfortably hot. This time, we were facing the other way as this is dual aspect hide so different backgrounds.

The first to show was a pair of Jackdaws with one really giving the other an ear-wigging that lasted some time.

It rapidly proved to be too hot for anything to show for long but the Red-footed Falcons showed around the nest box. This time we could see three young in the box.

A male perched for a time

and a female

and then the male flew in to perch - probably the shot of the week for replica rolex  me, despite the weather changing to heavy and overcast due to a thunderstorm at the time

That was the end of the day.

We had some time before we left on Saturday morning so another try from the lodge decking. Whiskered Terns were still flying arounf and one actually came relatively close but still shooting into the sun.

and then a Great White Egret landed in the marsh

but did not stay long but one flight shot into the sun took my eye.

Overall comments on the trip.

Company generally excellent and enjoyable although it does amuse me to see hublot replica Nikon users sniping at Canon users but not the other way round - odd that!!!

The weather was far from ideal due to the heavy storms before we arrived and the unseasonally hot weather during the week. We were unable to access the Canopy hide which should have been one of the highlights and the Egret and Stork hide was also not available due to low activity. High water levels prevented most waders from feeding in front of the Shorebird Hide except for Black-winged Stilts and the drinking Pool hides were a waste of time as there was plenty of drinking water elsewhere so few visitors. Two days out through illness was also a major drawback for me.

Never-the-less, Saker Holidays, the local agents, were extremely good and worked hard for us to make the best of things.

Highlights for me - Rollers - an eight year quest, Bee-eaters and the Shrikes.

Would I go again - not at this time of the year. I think the best time of year to get a better spread of species is around mid-May. Mid/late June is probably too late if my experience it anything to go by.