Garth Peacock
Hungary Day 5

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Friday 19th August 2016

It is almost two months to the day since Day 5 of my photographic trip to the Hortobagy, Hungary. Family matters and other things have kept me too busy - rather frustrating but unavoidable.

Day 5 started at the usual 5.00 am for a longish drive to the Bee-eater colony where two permanent hides had been built, each capable of seating 3 photographers although we just had two in our hide so there was plenty of room. The sun was just rising over the trees at to out right but the colony was already very busy. hublot replica  A few side-lit shots

and at the nest hole

with a backgound of wild poppies to add colour

and taking flight

At the top of the bank, tag-heuer replica there was a background of trees for variation.

and even a close-up of what the bee-eater gets it's name from.

Then a Hoopoe appeared feeding.

conveniently climbing up an ant hill

and finally perching to preen and stretch

Pity that a crest feather was missing.

Back to the Bee-eaters with some flight shots

Finally, the session ended and back to the lodge for lunch.

That afternoon we should have visited a Hoopoe nest site but illness prevented me from Cartier replica staying and kept me in bed until Friday morning - what a disappointment!!!