Garth Peacock
Hungary Day 5

Archive

Local trips.

Tuesday 24th April 2018

Scotland - the last three days

Wednesday 18th April 2018

Scotland day 6

Tuesday 17th April 2018

Scotland - Day 5 - A mammal day

Friday 13th April 2018

Scotland - Days 3 & 4

Thursday 12th April 2018

Scotland - Day2

Tuesday 10th April 2018

Scotland - Day 1

Wednesday 4th April 2018

Catch-up time on nothing much.

Monday 12th March 2018

A trip to Northamptonshire

Tuesday 27th February 2018

What a delightful surprise

Monday 5th February 2018

What a week it wasn't

Sunday 4th February 2018

Week ending 19th January 2018

Monday 22nd January 2018

First outing of 2018

Monday 8th January 2018

A snowy start to the week.

Saturday 16th December 2017

Sucesses and failures in equal measure

Wednesday 13th December 2017

A morning of common birds

Sunday 26th November 2017

Wicken Fen Cambridgeshire

Tuesday 21st November 2017

The past ten days.

Thursday 16th November 2017

Birdguides Photo of the Week

Wednesday 8th November 2017

A week in pictures

Friday 3rd November 2017

View Blog Archive >>
Friday 19th August 2016

It is almost two months to the day since Day 5 of my photographic trip to the Hortobagy, Hungary. Family matters and other things have kept me too busy - rather frustrating but unavoidable.

Day 5 started at the usual 5.00 am for a longish drive to the Bee-eater colony where two permanent hides had been built, each capable of seating 3 photographers although we just had two in our hide so there was plenty of room. The sun was just rising over the trees at to out right but the colony was already very busy. hublot replica  A few side-lit shots

and at the nest hole

with a backgound of wild poppies to add colour

and taking flight

At the top of the bank, tag-heuer replica there was a background of trees for variation.

and even a close-up of what the bee-eater gets it's name from.

Then a Hoopoe appeared feeding.

conveniently climbing up an ant hill

and finally perching to preen and stretch

Pity that a crest feather was missing.

Back to the Bee-eaters with some flight shots

Finally, the session ended and back to the lodge for lunch.

That afternoon we should have visited a Hoopoe nest site but illness prevented me from Cartier replica staying and kept me in bed until Friday morning - what a disappointment!!!