Garth Peacock
A day at Rutland Water

Archive

Wednesday 12th February 2020

Thursday 20th February 2020

Slimbrisge WWT Gloucesterdhire

Wednesday 19th February 2020

To end January 2020...

Thursday 30th January 2020

That's the end of 2019 for me.

Friday 20th December 2019

Disaster strikes

Monday 2nd December 2019

It's still very hard work

Saturday 9th November 2019

A quiet month overall

Saturday 2nd November 2019

Week ending 11th October 2019

Friday 11th October 2019

A quiet week

Friday 4th October 2019

A week of mixed fortunes

Tuesday 1st October 2019

The final catch-up

Tuesday 10th September 2019

Post Romania

Wednesday 4th September 2019

Romania Day 7 - 14th June 2019

Saturday 17th August 2019

Romania Day 6 - 13th June 2019

Friday 16th August 2019

Romania Day 5 - 12th June 2019

Wednesday 24th July 2019

Romania Day 4 - 11th June 2019

Thursday 18th July 2019

Romania Day 3 - 10th June 2019

Tuesday 9th July 2019

View Blog Archive >>
Friday 18th March 2016

I was once told by a well-known professional wildlife photographer that the object is to take the best image whatever the prevailing circumstances. This principle was really put to the test last Wednesday during a trip to Rutland Water. The main reason was to photograph the long-staying Long-billed Dowitcher, a rarish vagrant to the UK from North America and my first sighting of the species.

First call of the morning was to the southern shore and the Lyndon Reserve. omega replica watches The water level was the highest I have ever seen due to the recent rain and just nothing about of any interest at all. So off to the Egleton Reserve for the object of the visit. By now, the weather should have been bright with sunny spells - nothing doing - dull and overcast.

Arriving in Shoveler Hide, the bird was on show, about 100 yds away frequenting an island in the high water. Despite watching it for a while, it became apparent that it was unlikely to come any closer so it was time to set up accordingly.

2x converter on the 500 lens and shooting at ISO 1250 to get any speed at all and even breitling replica then the bird was only just larger than the centre focus point so a heavy crop would be required in editing. This was more for digiscopers than DSLRS but, as I said earlier, we have to make the best of what is available. Hence, record shots only.

Certainly nothing there to win any prizes but at least it is possible to identify it.

More record shots in the Recent Additions section but they do not get any better!!!